Federal Communications Commission 45 L Street NE Washington, DC 20554

News Media Information 202-418-0500 Internet: https://www.fcc.gov ASL: 1-844-432-2275

> DA 24-1208 December 2, 2024

# CHAIRWOMAN ROSENWORCEL APPOINTS NATIVE NATIONS COMMUNICATIONS TASK FORCE MEMBERS

Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel is appointing twenty-one (21) Tribal members and five (5) Federal Communications Commission (FCC) members to the FCC's renewed Native Nations Communications Task Force (Task Force or NNCTF). The Task Force is comprised of elected and appointed leaders, or their designees, from a broad cross section of Native Nations, as well as senior staff and decision-makers from across the Commission. Chairwoman Rosenworcel names Bambi Kraus, Chief of the Commission's Office of Native Affairs and Policy, as Task Force Co-Chair. A Tribal Co-Chair will be elected by the Tribal members of the Task Force. The Task Force will help the Commission fulfill its commitment to increase access to broadband and other communications infrastructure deployment and services on Tribal lands.

## **BACKGROUND**

The FCC released a Public Notice ("NNCTF Public Notice") announcing the renewal of the task force, and to seek applications for membership to serve on the renewed Task Force for the upcoming term. Members will serve for three years, starting from the date of the first NNCTF meeting to take place next year.

# **MISSION**

The Task Force's mission is to provide guidance, expertise, and recommendations to specific requests from the Commission on a range of telecommunications issues that directly or indirectly affect Tribal governments and their people. This will enhance the Commission's ability to carry out its statutory responsibilities to ensure the availability of communications by wire and radio and encourage broadband deployment to all Americans.

#### MEMBERS OF THE NATIVE NATIONS COMMUNICATIONS TASK FORCE

#### Tribal Task Force members are:

Tiffany Circle, Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation Washington
Sam Cohen, Santa Ynez Band of Chumash Mission Indians of the Santa Ynez Reservation
Fred Corey, Mi'kmaq Nation
Guthrie Ducheneaux, Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> FCC Extends Current Native Nations Communications Task Force and Seeks Nominations for Tribal Government Representatives to Serve on Renewed Task Force Beginning in 2024, Public Notice, 38 FCC Rcd 9581, DA 23-982 (2023) ("NNCTF Public Notice"). Incumbent Task Force members were also invited to recommit to serving the Task Force. Id. In a subsequent Public Notice, the Commission extended the deadline for nominations and letters to December 29, 2023. FCC Extends Deadline to Submit Nominations and Recommitment Letters for Membership on the Native Nations Communications Task Force, Public Notice, DA 23-1124, 38 FCC Rcd 11086 (2023).

Lee Fine, Tunica-Biloxi Tribe of Louisiana

Melissa Francis, Passamaquoddy Tribe at Pleasant Point

Anthony Giacobbe, Seneca Nation

Sharon Hildebrand, Tanana Chiefs Conference

Donald Long Knife, Fort Belknap Indian Community

Marissa Merculieff, Aleut Community of St. Paul (ASCPI)

Will Micklin, Ewiiaapaayp Band of Kumeyaay Indians

Allyson Mitchell, St. Regis Mohawk Tribe

Jason Neilitz, Sokaogon Chippewa Community

Robert Pollard, Blue Lake Rancheria

Kevin Shendo, Pueblo of Jemez

Josh Snow, Chickasaw Nation

Paula Starr, Cherokee Nation

Teresa Taylor, Lummi Nation

Sherry Treppa, Habematolel Pomo of Upper Lake Tribe

Jonathan Walters, Samish Indian Nation

Jason Williams, Chugachmiut

## **Federal Communications Commission members are:**

- Allison Baker, Associate Bureau Chief, Wireline Competition Bureau
- David Furth, Deputy Bureau Chief, Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau
- Bambi Kraus, Chief, Office of Native Affairs and Policy, Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau, and FCC NNCTF Co-Chair
- Janet Moran, Associate Division Chief, Competition and Infrastructure Policy Division, Wireless Telecommunications Bureau
- Lisa Scanlan, Deputy Division Chief, Audio Division, Media Bureau

## EXEMPTION FROM THE FEDERAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE ACT

Pursuant to the "intergovernmental communication" exemption of UMRA,<sup>2</sup> the Task Force is not subject to, and is not required to follow, the procedures set forth in the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), 5 U.S.C. App 2 (1988).<sup>3</sup>

<sup>3</sup> See 47 C.F.R. § 0.701 (a).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> See 2 U.S.C. § 1534 (b).

# **ACCESSIBLE FORMATS**

To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (Braille, large print, electronic files, audio format), send an e-mail to <a href="fcc504@fcc.gov">fcc504@fcc.gov</a> or call the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau at (202) 418-0530 (voice) or (202) 418-0432 (TTY).

# **FURTHER INFORMATION**

For further information, please contact the Office of Native Affairs and Policy at Native@fcc.gov.

- FCC -