## INTERNATIONAL UNION OF GEODESY AND GEOPHYSICS UNION GEODESIQUE ET GEOPHYSIQUE INTERNATIONALE

## **IUGG Early Career Scientist Awardees 2023**

(7 November 2022)

Ten scientists have been awarded the IUGG Early Career Scientist Awards 2023 for their outstanding research in Earth and space sciences and for their international research cooperation:

**Mohd Farooq Azam** (Glaciology/Hydrology, Indian Institute of Technology – Indore, India) for his efforts to raise Indian glaciology to international levels, for his boundless interest in Himalayan glaciohydrology leading to reference review articles and long-term glacier monitoring.

**Jana H. Börner** (Geomagnetism, Freiberg University of Mining and Technology, Germany) for her contributions to electromagnetic geophysics and laboratory-based petrophysics for understanding complex environments and reactive systems.

**Jayashree Bulusu** (Geomagnetism, Indian Institute of Geomagnetism, India) for her path-breaking contributions to understanding low-latitude phenomena in the magnetosphere.

**Johan Gaume** (Glaciology, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland) for his seminal work on snow avalanche modeling from the initial crack in the snowpack to the full slope release and for interdisciplinary and innovative studies of geophysical mass flows.

**Jose Társilo Girona Hernandez** (Volcanology, University of Alaska Fairbanks, USA) for his pioneering and innovative approaches for studying the degassing and eruptive behavior of volcanoes by combining remote sensing, numerical modeling and machine learning.

**Natalya Gomez** (Glaciology/Ocean Sciences, McGill University, Canada) for her seminal contributions to our understanding of the connections between the cryosphere and sea level change, at the border of geophysical and climate sciences.

**Patrick Hupe** (Atmospheric Sciences/Seismology, Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources, Germany) for his transdisciplinary work which bridges meteorology, acoustics, and seismology, laying the foundation for future research in his field.

Christina Karamperidou (Atmospheric Sciences, University of Hawaii, USA)

for her significant contributions to understanding El Niño spatiotemporal diversity and associated impacts, from paleoclimate to modern times through multidisciplinary international collaborations.

Xingxing Li (Geodesy, Wuhan University, China)

for his innovative contributions in improving GNSS precise positioning and orbit determination, significantly extending the high-precision GNSS applications in geosciences.

**Norimitsu Nakata** (Seismology, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA) for his innovative research using seismic ambient noise by pioneering a high-resolution body-wave tomography and finding time-lapse changes of subsurface elastic parameters.

The IUGG Early Career Scientist Awards 2023 will be presented during the Award Ceremony of the <u>IUGG</u> <u>General Assembly 2023</u> in Berlin, Germany.

The <u>Early Career Scientist Award Committee (2023)</u> was chaired by Katrin Schröder (Italy; IAPSO). The Members of the Committee were Keith Alverson (Canada; IAMAS), Marie Dumont (France; IACS), Julia Eychenne (France IAVCEI), Michelle Grobbelaar (South Africa; IASPEI), Paola Passalacqua (USA; IAHS), Prasanta Patro (India; IAGA)				
IAVCEI), Michelle Grobbelaai Peiliang Xu (Japan/China; IAC	(South Africa; IASPEI), and Thorsten Wagener	, Paola Passalacqua (U r (Germany; IUGG).	SA; IAHS), Prasanta Pat	ro (India; IAGA)