

REPORT OF THE NCAA BOARD OF GOVERNORS January 2, 2024, VIDEOCONFERENCE

ACTION ITEMS.

None.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- 1. **Welcome and announcements.** NCAA Board of Governors chair, President Linda Livingstone, convened the videoconference at approximately 9 a.m. Eastern time and welcomed the Governors.
- 2. **Executive Session.** The board convened in executive session.
 - a. **Media Rights update.** NCAA staff facilitated a privileged and confidential discussion regarding the media rights agreement.

It was VOTED

"The NCAA President has approval to execute the binding term sheet with ESPN for NCAA championships media rights for an eight-year term from September 1, 2024, through August 31, 2032, as specified; further to authorize the negotiation of the long-form media rights agreement with ESPN to be completed within 90 calendar-days." **Approved** (Unanimous voice vote)

- b. **Communications plan/strategy**. NCAA staff outlined the strategy for sharing the information on the media rights agreement with ESPN across the membership and the college sports media landscape.
- **3. Other business.** The board did not have other business.
- **4. Adjournment.** The meeting was adjourned at approximately 10:00 a.m. Eastern time.

NCAA Board of Governors January 2, 2024, Videoconference

Attendees:

Javaune Adams-Gaston, Norfolk State University.

Charlie Baker, NCAA.

Mary-Beth Cooper, Springfield College.

Bryce Choate, Graduated Division I student-athlete.

Houston Davis, Central Arkansas University.

Allison Feaster, Boston Celtics/Vice President of Team Operations and Organizational Growth

Linda Livingstone, Baylor University.

Madeleine McKenna, Graduated Division II student-athlete.

Carrie Michaels, Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania.

Jere Morehead, University of Georgia.

Holly Sheilley, Transylvania University.

Steven Shirley, Minot State University.

Isaiah Swann, Graduated Division III student-athlete.

Lynda Tealer, University of Florida.

Nadja West, MD, retired United States Army lieutenant general and 44th U.S. Army Surgeon General.

Absentees:

Beth DeBauche, Ohio Valley Conference.

Guests in Attendance:

Karen Brodkin, Endeavor.

Andrew Demsey, Endeavor.

Hillary Mandel, Endeavor.

NCAA Staff Liaisons in Attendance:

Terri Steeb Gronau

Stephanie Quigg

Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

Scott Bearby, Tim Buckley, Joni Comstock, Kelly Dodds, Dan Gavitt, Brian Higgins, Lynn Holzman, Julie Kimmons, Mario Morris and Chris Termini.