

منظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم المتحدة

COUNCIL

Hundred and Forty-Third Session

Rome 28 November - 2 December 2011

Membership of the WFP Executive Board

Suggested Action by the Council

In accordance with Resolution 7/2011, adopted by the 37th Session of the FAO Conference on 2 July 2011, the Council is required to elect six FAO Member Nations to the WFP Executive Board for a term of office of three years to fill the following seats:

- 2 seats from List A (including the rotating seat for the period 2012-2014)
- 1 seat from List C
- 2 seats from List D
- 1 seat from List E

The attached nomination form should be completed by Member Nations which wish to stand for the above seats and submitted to the Secretary-General of the Conference and Council by 12:00 hours on Monday, 14 November 2011.

Queries on the substantive content of this document may be addressed to:

Stephen Dowd

Chief, Conference, Council and Government Relations Branch

Tel: +3906 5705 3459

This document is printed in limited numbers to minimize the environmental impact of FAO's processes and contribute to climate neutrality. Delegates and observers are kindly requested to bring their copies to meetings and to avoid asking for additional copies. Most FAO meeting documents are available on the Internet at www.fao.org

F

1. For purposes of election to the Board, FAO Member Nations are divided into five separate lists (A, B, C, D and E) as shown on the FAO Council Web page under "Other Documents": http://www.fao.org/bodies/council/cl143/en/

2. The Council is required to elect six members for a term of office expiring on 31 December 2014 to replace those whose terms end on 31 December 2011, i.e. Egypt (List A); Brazil¹ and Colombia (List C); Denmark and Ireland (List D); and Slovenia (List E).

3. Outgoing members are eligible for re-election.

4. A nomination form is given in the <u>Appendix</u>.

| Term of office Expiring | Elected by FAO Council | Elected by ECOSOC |
|----------------------------|---|---|
| 31 December 2011 | Brazil (C) ² Colombia (C) Denmark (D) Egypt (A) Slovenia (E) Ireland (D) ³ | Angola (A) China (B) Czech Republic (E) Guatemala (C) Japan (D) United Kingdom (D) |
| 31 December 2012 | Kenya (A) Jordan (B) Philippines (B) Mexico (C) Netherlands (D) United States of America (D) | Burkina Faso (A) France (D) India (B) Iran (Islamic Republic of) (B) Spain (D) ⁴ Russian Federation (E) |
| 31 December 2013 | Cameroon (A) Canada (D) Germany (D) Haiti (C) Saudi Arabia (B) South Africa (A) | Australia (D) Cuba (C) Morocco (A) Norway (D) Republic of Korea (B) Sudan (A) |
| 31 December 2014 | | China (B) Czech Republic (E) Japan (D) United Kingdom (D) Zambia (A) (List C country to follow) |

¹ Brazil occupied the rotating seat for List C for 2009-2011. A List A country will fill this seat as of 1 January 2012.

 $^{^2}$ This seat rotates between lists A, B and C as follows: List A (2012-2014), List B (2015-2017), List A (2018-2020) and List C (2021-2023).

³ Switzerland resigned from the WFP Executive Board on 31 December 2010, and the Council agreed that Ireland would occupy this List D seat for the remainder of the term of office to 31 December 2011.

⁴ Luxembourg resigned from the WFP Executive Board on 31 December 2010, and ECOSOC agreed that Spain would occupy this List D seat for the remainder of the term of office to 31 December 2011

Appendix

Nomination Form for WFP Executive Board

| | To be submitted by 12.00 hours on Monday, 14 November 2011 |
|-----|--|
| To: | The Secretary-General of the Conference and Council Date: Room A-140 |
| | The Delegate of (FAO Member Nation) |
| | (Signature) |
| | Wishes to nominatefor List <u>1</u> / |
| | for election to a seat on the WFP Executive Board for the term of office 1 January 2012 - 31 December 2014. |
| | The Delegate of(FAO Member Nation) |
| | (signature) Title: |
| | accepts this nomination |

Insert A, B, C or D as appropriate. Seats to be filled for 2012-2014 are:
2 from List A, 1 from List C, 2 from List D, I from List E. There are no vacancies to be filled for List B for the period 2012-2014.