Disability Advisory Committee (DAC) Meeting Minutes September 9, 2021

Certified by DAC Co-Chair Brian Scarpelli – September 24, 2021

On September 9, 2021, at 1:30 p.m. EDT, the second meeting of the fourth term of the DAC was opened by DAC Co-Chair Isidore Niyongabo of the National Black Deaf Advocates (NBDA). This meeting was held virtually via video conference due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Welcoming remarks were given by Acting Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel, who reiterated the Commission's commitment to ensure meaningful stakeholder engagement, to ensure modern communications, and to identify and address accessibility gaps. Acting Chairwoman Rosenworcel also announced two new working groups under the DAC. One working group would examine opportunities and challenges of utilizing Telecommunications Relay Services (TRS) with video conferencing platforms and examine appropriate uses for TRS versus other forms of accommodations with these platforms. Another working group will examine the feasibility and challenges of deploying Real-Time Text (RTT) in the wireline environment.

Next, Commissioner Geoffrey Starks welcomed DAC members and commended the invaluable work done by the Committee. Commissioner Starks recognized the pandemic's negative impact upon people with disabilities and reviewed recent actions by the Commission to increase access for individuals with disabilities. Commissioner Simington then spoke about the importance of the Twenty-First Century Communications and Video Accessibility Act of 2010 (CVAA) and recent steps taken by the Commission to improve TRS services for people with disabilities.

Patrick Webre, Chief of the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau (CGB), thanked the DAC members for crafting thoughtful recommendations for the Commission's consideration. Mr. Webre also recognized the work of the Pandemic Communication Access Work Group and the Emerging Technology Working Group. Finally, Mr. Webre reminded the members that nominations are due September 17, 2021, for the Commission Chair's Awards for Advancement in Accessibility (FCC Chair's AAA).

Diane Burstein, Deputy Bureau Chief of CGB, then expressed her gratitude to the members of the fourth term of the DAC and to Commission staff who assisted with DAC operations. Will Schell, DAC Designated Federal Officer (DFO), summarized the DAC meeting communications protocols, and introduced Joshua Mendelsohn, who is the new Deputy DFO and DRO staff attorney.

Emily Voorde, Associate Director of the White House Office of Public Engagement, explained her role within the White House and how her office engages and communicates with constituents with disabilities.

DAC Co-Chair Isidore Niyongabo then led a roll call of members, where the DAC members then introduced themselves and their organizational affiliations.

Next, the DAC heard from Richard Ray of the National Emergency Number Association (NENA), Chair of one of the two DAC working groups, on a report and recommendation

regarding pandemic communication access. Discussion was held and the recommendation was voted upon and passed as amended.

The DAC then heard from Kara Graves of CTIA, Chair of the DAC emerging accessible communication opportunities working group, on a report and recommendation. A discussion was held, and the recommendation was voted upon and passed as amended.

The meeting opened for public comments. Will Schell responded to questions about cued language transliteration being provided as part of video relay services and how the public may apply for DAC membership.

Closing remarks were made by DAC Co-Chairs Isidore Niyongabo and Brian Scarpelli.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 4:30 p.m.

Disability Advisory Committee Members in Attendance September 9, 2021

| Organization | Representative |
|--------------------------------------|-------------------|
| ACT - the App Association | Brian Scarpelli |
| American Foundation for the Blind | Sarah Malaier |
| Apple | James Craig |
| The Arc | Abe Rafi |
| AT&T | Linda Vandeloop |
| Bridge Multimedia Corporation | Wendy Sapp |
| Cerebral Palsy and Deaf Organization | Mark Hill |
| City of Boston | Carl Richardson |
| ClearCaptions | Michael Strecker |
| Comcast | Tom Wlodkowski |
| Communications Service for the Deaf | Juli Robinson |
| Consumer Technology Association | Rachel Nemeth |
| Convo | Amanda Montgomery |
| CTIA | Kara Graves |
| Dicapta | Judy Mathews |
| Hamilton Relay | Beth Slough |
| Hearing Loss Association of America | Lise Hamlin |
| IBM | Mary Jo Mueller |
| InnoCaption | Cristina Duarte |
| National Association for State Relay | Travis Dougherty |
| Administration | |
| National Association of Broadcasters | Josh Pila |
| National Association of the Deaf | Zainab Alkebsi |
| National Black Deaf Advocates | Isidore Niyongabo |

| National Emergency Numbering Association | Richard Ray |
|--|-----------------|
| National Federation of the Blind | Everette Bacon |
| NCTA | Jared Sher |
| Perkins School for the Blind | Kristyn Leigh |
| Sorenson | Michael Maddix |
| TDI | Blake Reid |
| T-Mobile | Dennis Selznick |
| Trace Research and Development Center | Bern Jordan |
| Verizon | Zachary Bastian |
| ZP Better Together | Gregory Hlibok |
| U.S. Access Board | Timothy Creagan |
| U.S. Department of Education | Brianne Burger |
| FEMA | Aaron Kubey |

CGB Staff Speakers
Patrick Webre Diane Burstein Will Schell Josh Mendelsohn