Disability Advisory Committee (DAC) Meeting Minutes October 14, 2020

Certified by DAC Co-Chair Brian Scarpelli – March 29, 2021

On February 18, 2021 at 1:30 p.m. EDT, the inaugural meeting of the fourth term of the DAC was opened by DAC Co-Chair Brian Scarpelli of ACT – the App Association. This meeting was held virtually via video conference due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Welcoming remarks were given by Acting Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel, who expressed her appreciation for the DAC's role in accessible telecommunications policy and the importance of accessibility in the Commission's work. Acting Chairwoman Rosenworcel also highlighted the accessibility challenges that have emerged during the pandemic and the actions taken by the Commission to address such issues. Next, Patrick Webre, Chief of the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau (CGB), greeted the DAC and congratulated new and returning members on their appointments to the fourth term of the DAC. Mr. Webre noted that accessible communications have shifted to almost exclusively online for various aspects of our daily lives and shared the Commission's work to implement the Emergency Broadband Benefit program.

Next, Diane Burstein, Deputy Bureau Chief of CGB expressed her gratitude to the members of the fourth term of the DAC. Debra Patkin, DAC Designated Federal Officer (DFO) provided an overview of the DAC, the Federal Advisory Committee Act, the structure of the DAC, and its working groups. She also summarized the DAC meeting communications protocols.

The DAC members then introduced themselves and their organizational affiliations during a roll call of members. After that, the DAC members heard from Paula Silberthau, Attorney Advisor with the Commission's Office of General Counsel, who explained the requirements of the Federal Advisory Committee Act for the DAC and its working groups. She discussed the notice and open meeting requirements for full DAC meetings, as well as the Committee's record management obligations.

After a break, Suzy Rosen Singleton, Chief of the Disability Rights Office (DRO), provided an overview on the Disability Rights Office and its work around modern communications, emergency communications, and video programming and its stakeholder engagement activities. Ms. Rosen Singleton also provided highlights of DRO's recent activities, including updates on audio description, emergency communications, and the Emergency Broadband Benefit Program. Eliot Greenwald, Deputy Chief of the DRO, provided updates on the DRO's activities regarding Telecommunications Relay Services (TRS), including updates on Video Relay Service (VRS) and Internet Protocol Captioned Telephone Services (IP CTS).

Next, DAC Co-Chair Scarpelli led a facilitated discussion on accessible communications for individuals with disabilities during the pandemic. In general, the DAC members flagged that, during the pandemic, the following communication accessibility gaps existed in the following areas: connectivity, consumer agility, devices and technology, emergency communications, real-time text, relay services, videoconferencing platforms, and video programming.

The meeting opened for public comments. Ms. Patkin responded to questions about electromagnetic hypersensitivity and a question about broadband connectivity.

Closing remarks were made by DAC Co-Chair Scarpelli.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 4:45 p.m.

Disability Advisory Committee Members in Attendance February 18, 2021

Organization	Representative
ACT - the App Association	Brian Scarpelli
American Council of the Blind	Clark Rachfal
American Foundation for the Blind	Sarah Malaier
Apple	Maria Kirby
The Arc	Abe Rafi
AT&T	Linda Vandeloop
Bridge Multimedia Corporation	Wendy Sapp
Cerebral Palsy and Deaf Organization	Mark Hill
City of Boston	Carl Richardson
ClearCaptions	Michael Strecker
Comcast	Tom Wlodkowski
Communications Service for the Deaf	Juli Robinson
Consumer Technology Association	Rachel Nemeth
Convo	Amanda Montgomery
CTIA	Kara Graves
DeafBlind Citizens in Action	George Stern
Dicapta	Judy Mathews
Hamilton Relay	Beth Slough
Hearing Loss Association of America	Lise Hamlin
IBM	Mary Jo Mueller
InnoCaption	Cristina Duarte
National Association for State Relay	Travis Dougherty
Administration	
National Association of Broadcasters	Josh Pila
National Association of the Deaf	Zainab Alkebsi
National Black Deaf Advocates	Usherla DeBerry
National Emergency Numbering Association	Richard Ray
National Federation of the Blind	Everette Bacon

NCTA	Jacqueline Clary
Perkins School for the Blind	Kristyn Leigh
Sorenson	Michael Maddix
TDI	Eric Kaika
T-Mobile	Shellie Blakeney
Verizon	Zachary Bastian
ZP Better Together	Greg Hlibok
U.S. Access Board	Tim Creagan
U.S. Department of Education	Brianne Burger
U.S. Department of Health – ACL	Stephen Bauer
FEMA	Aaron Kubey

CGB Staff
Patrick Webre Diane Burstein Suzy Rosen Singleton Eliot Greenwald Debra Patkin Will Schell