Disability Advisory Committee (DAC)

Meeting Minutes

February 24, 2022

Certified by DAC Co-Chair Brian Scarpelli – March 10, 2022

On February 24, 2022, at 1:00 p.m. EDT, the third and virtual meeting of the fourth term of the DAC was opened by DAC Co-Chair Brian Scarpelli of The App Association (ACT).

Commissioner Nathan Simington shared remarks of appreciation. Commissioner Simington highlighted some Commission activities, including the Emergency Broadband Program, the Affordable Connectivity Program, and the Telecommunications Relay Services (TRS) Fund.

Next, Commissioner Geoffrey Starks greeted the members, and spoke about achieving a more inclusive environment for diversified media ownership, programming, and content. Commissioner Starks then spoke about diversity as being one of the key pillars of our media and broadcast policy and the influence it has on public opinion and establishing societal norms.

Alejandro Roark, Chief of the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau (CGB), welcomed the members, and shared his previous work of expanding the circle of opportunity for historically underserved communities and providing affordable broadband in each household. Mr. Roark provided a brief summary of the two DAC working groups providing recommendations today. Mr. Roark then shared gratitude to DAC co-chairs and working group chairs, Eric Kaika and Ian Dillner. Diane Burstein, Deputy Bureau Chief of CGB, expressed her gratitude next.

Joshua Mendelsohn, DAC Designated Federal Officer (DFO), summarized the DAC meeting communications protocols and housekeeping rules. DAC Co-Chair Isidore Niyongabo then led a roll call of members, where the DAC members then introduced themselves and their organizational affiliations.

Suzy Rosen Singleton, Chief of the Disability Rights Office, shared briefings from DRO and discussed topics of interest, including matters concerning new broadband programs, emergency access, telecommunication access, and video programming accessibility.

Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel then joined the meeting and recognized the Commission's commitment to ensure meaningful stakeholder engagement. Chairwoman Rosenworcel reflected on the past year and the progress made, such as deploying real-time text with nationwide mobile carriers and facilitating discussions on making video programming accessible with closed captioning online. Chairwoman Rosenworcel encouraged the continued work on improving telecommunication relay services with the benefits of the technology available. Chairwoman Rosenworcel announced an upcoming forum on audio description for online video programming on March 28, 2022.

The DRO updates then continued with Deputy Chief Eliot Greenwald's briefings regarding telecommunications access and relay services.

Eric Kaika of the Telecommunications for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Inc., Chair of the TRS Video Conferencing Working Group, then introduced the working group's report and

recommendation. Discussion was held and the recommendation was voted upon and passed as amended.

The DAC then heard from Ian Dillner of Verizon Communications, Inc., Chair of the Real-Time Text (RTT) on Wireline Networks Working Group, on a report and recommendation. A discussion was held, and the recommendation was voted upon and passed.

The meeting opened for public comments. Joshua Mendelsohn responded to questions about the accessibility of video programming at the Super Bowl and shared comments regarding usage of cued language translators within video relay services. Mr. Mendelsohn then addressed complaints about video programming accessibility on airlines and elevator music while being on hold during calls.

Closing remarks were made by DAC Co-Chairs Isidore Niyongabo and Brian Scarpelli.

The meeting adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

Disability Advisory Committee Members in Attendance

Organization	Representative
ACT – the App Association	Brian Scarpelli
American Council of the Blind	Clark Rachfal
American Foundation for the Blind	Sarah Malaier
Apple, Inc.	James Craig
AT&T	Linda Vandeloop
Bridge Multimedia Corporation	Matthew Kaplowitz
Cerebral Palsy and Deaf Organization	Mark Hill
City of Boston	Carl Richardson
ClearCaptions	Michael Strecker
Comcast Corporation and NBCUniversal	Thomas Wlodkowski
Media, LLC	Jerry Parkins
	Richard Wikoff
Communications Service for the Deaf, Inc	Juli Robinson
Consumer Technology Association	Rachel Nemeth
Convo Communications, LLC	Amanda Montgomery
CTIA - the Wireless Association	Sarah Leggin
DeafBlind Citizens in Action	Divya Goel
DICAPTA	Maria Victoria Diaz
Hamilton Relay, Inc.	Beth Slough
Hearing Loss Association of America	Lise Hamlin
IBM	Mary Jo Mueller
Mezmo Corporation dba InnoCaption	Cristina O. Duarte
National Association for State Relay	Travis Dougherty
Administration	
National Association of Broadcasters	Joshua N. Pila
National Association of the Deaf	Zainab Alkebsi
National Black Deaf Advocates	Isidore Niyongabo

February 24, 2022

National Emergency Number Association	Richard Ray
National Federation of the Blind	Everette Bacon
The Internet & Television Association	Jacqueline Clary
Perkins School for the Blind	Kristyn Leigh
Sorenson Communications, LLC	Michael D. Maddix
Telecommunications for the Deaf and Hard of	Eric Kaika
Hearing, Inc.	
T-Mobile US, Inc.	Shellie Blakeney
Trace Research and Development Center	Bern Jordan
Verizon Communications, Inc.	Zachary Bastian
ZP Better Together, LLC	Gregory Hlibok
U.S. Access Board	Timothy P. Creagan
	Bruce Bailey
U.S. Department of Education	Brianne Burger
U.S. Department of Health and Human	Lisa Bothwell
Services, Administration for Community	
Living	
U.S. Department of Homeland Security,	Aaron Kubey
Federal Emergency Management Agency	

CGB Staff Speakers

Alejandro Roark Diane Burstein Suzy Rosen Singleton Eliot Greenwald Josh Mendelsohn