

Byd Mun

**Boyd Gourneau** 

Nineteenth Chairman of the Lower Brule Sioux Tribe

October 2016-October 2020

Born: November 11, 1961

# **Before Chairmanship:**

- Tribal Council Member
  - 0 1990-1994
  - o 1996-2002
  - o 2004-2008
- Vice Chairman 2008–2014

## 2016 Lower Brule Tribal Chairman Election

#### <u>Candidates</u>

- Boyd Gourneau (Former Vice-Chairman), served a total of twenty years.
  He served seven terms as Council Member and three terms as Vice-Chairman.
- Lewis Grassrope (Community Activist), first ran for council in 2012. He ran against Chairman Jandreau in 2014, coming in second with 48% of the vote.
- Stephanie Bolman (Community Member).

### Results

- The primary election was held on August 2, 2016. Boyd Gourneau and Lewis Grassrope advanced to the general election. Boyd Gourneau captured 54% of the vote 238 votes to Lewis who received 33% and 147 votes, in third place was Stephanie Bolman with 13% and 59 votes.
- The general election took place on September 6, 2016. Boyd Gourneau was elected chairman with 60% and 286 votes to Lewis Grassropes 40% and 188 votes.

		Primary	General	Precent of Voters-P	Precent of Voters-G
Chairman					
Boyd	Gourneau	238	286	54%	60%
Lewis	Grassrope	147	188	33%	40%
Stephanie	Bolman	59		13%	
Total	Voters	444	474	100%	100%

## 2016-2018 Gourneau Administration

- Boyd Gourneau, Chairman
  - o Jerauld Jandreau, Administrative Assistant
  - o Mary-Jane Gourneau, Recording Secretary
- Darrell Middletent, Vice-Chairman
- Orville "Red" Langdeau Jr., Secretary-Treasurer
- Council Members
  - John McCauley Sr.
  - o Donnie Moore
  - Clyde Estes



(Pictured LtoR Vice-Chair Darrell Middletent, Sec-Tres Orville "Red" Langdeau Jr., Council Member John McCauley Sr., Chairman Boyd Gourneau, Council Members Donnie Moore and Clyde Estes)

#### Other Tribal Administration

- Tara Adamski, Tribal Attorney
- Lee Brennan, Tribal Manager
- Claire Green, Public Information Officer
- Lorrie Miner, Chief Judge

#### 2018 Lower Brule Tribal Chairman Election

#### **Candidates**

• Boyd Gourneau (Incumbent), served a total of twenty years. He served six terms as Council Member and three terms as Vice-Chairman.

#### Results

 Since the only candidate was Boyd Gourneau, there was not election needed and Chairman Gourneau would be sworn in for another term.

#### 2018-2020 Gourneau Administration

- Boyd Gourneau, Chairman
  - o Jerauld Jandreau, Administrative Assistant
  - Mary-Jane Gourneau, Recording Secretary
- Cody Russell, Vice-Chairman
- Orville "Red" Langdeau Jr., Secretary-Treasurer
- Council Members
  - John McCauley Sr.
  - Clyde Estes
  - Marvin Grassrope Sr



(Pictured LtoR Sec-Tres Orville "Red" Langdeau Jr., Council Member John McCauley Sr., Chairman Boyd Gourneau, Vice-Chair Cody Russell, Council Members Marvin Grassrope and Clyde Estes

#### Other Tribal Administration

- Tara Adamski, Tribal Attorney (until 2019)
- Randy Seiler, Tribal Attorney (2019-Present)
- Lee Brennan, Tribal Manager (until 2018)
- Claire Green, Public Information Officer
- Lorrie Miner, Chief Judge

# **Major Events**

- Gave 2018 State of the Tribes Address,
  South Dakota Legislative Session
- COVID-19 Pandemic Began March 2020



(2018 SD State of the Tribes Address)

(SD House Speaker Mark Mickelson, Chairman Boyd Gourneau, and Lt. Governor Matt Michels, SD State of the Tribes Address 2018)





(Family Photo: Council Member Donnie Moore, Lee Gourneau, Former Vice-Chair and Longtime Council Member Kay Gourneau, and Chairman Boyd Gourneau)

### 2020 Lower Brule Tribal Chairman Election

## **Candidates**

- Boyd Gourneau (Incumbent), served two terms as chairman (2016 & 2018). He also served a total of twenty years before being elected to the as Vice-Chairman.
- Clyde Estes (Council Member) served two terms as council member.

## Results

• Since there were only two candidates there was no primary for Chairman in 2020. Clyde Estes won with 62% and 305 votes to Boyd Gourneau's 38% and 186 votes.

		Primary	General	Precent of Voters-P	Precent of Voters-G
Chairman					
Boyd	Gourneau		186		38%
Clyde	Estes		305		62%
Total	Voters		491	100%	100%