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ADVANCED CONVERSION

FUNNEL OPTIMIZATION

(or, HOW TO BECOME UNBEATABLE IN ANY MARKET)

In the last 36 months we have:


!

Ryan Deiss

Founder/CEO,
DigitalMarketer.com

Invested over $15,000,000 (of our own money)


on marketing tests
Generated tens of millions of unique visitors
Sent well over a BILLION emails, and
Run approximately 3,000 split tests
!

...all in our own businesses.

WHAT MAKES
DIGITAL MARKETER
DIFFERENT?

WE ACTUALLY
DO THIS STUFF!

SHOCKING STATEMENT

THERES NO SUCH THING AS A

TRAFFIC PROBLEM

THERE ARE ONLY


OFFER PROBLEMS

THE CVO BREAKTHROUGH


This realization changed EVERYTHING

It allowed us to get unstuck and grow to the
next level

It allowed us to focus on what matters (instead of


shiny objects)

It allowed us to declare independence from


affiliates and joint ventures

And finally, it allowed us win in multiple markets


(because this blueprint is UNIVERSAL!!)

CUSTOMER VALUE
OPTIMIZATION
!

(A.K.A. FULL FUNNEL OPTIMIZATION)

Our Methodology...

THE
FIVE
THINGS

1
Tripwire
2
Core Offer
3
Profit Maximizer
4
Return Path
5
Lead Magnet

1.
LEAD
MAGNET

WHAT IS A
LEAD
MAGNET?

A small chunk of value that


solves a SPECIFIC problem
for a SPECIFIC market that is
offered in exchange for an
opt-in.

WHY LEAD
MAGNETS?

Prospects want immediate


gratification and something
they can sink their teeth into
NOW. Lead magnets give
them that...

LEAD MAGNET CHECKLIST


Offers an ultra-specific solution to an ultra-specific market

Promises one big thing (as opposed to a lot of little things)

Speaks to a known desired end result

Offers immediate gratification

(no multi-day email courses, newsletters, podcasts, etc.)


Moves prospect down a continuum of belief



Has a high perceived value

Has a high ACTUAL value (contains an Aha Moment)

Can be consumed in 5 minutes or less

BE SPECIFIC!!!
MARKET
Investors

Forex Traders

Bloggers

Single Guys

Horse Owners

Preppers

Golfers

LEAD MAGNET
Top Dividend Stocks

MetaTrader Tutorials

Appify Your Blog

The Kiss Test

Stop Cribbing

Get a 2nd Passport

10 Yards Longer

SPECIFICITY MATTERS

THIS IS NOT A LEAD MAGNET

WHATS
WRONG WITH
THIS LEAD
MAGNET?

WHATS
WRONG WITH
THIS LEAD
MAGNET?

THIS WORKED BETTER

TITLES MATTER
CASE STUDY: 50,000% MORE SALES!!

Published: 1982

!

Copies Sold: < 5000

Re-Published: 1998

!

Copies Sold:

!

OVER
2.5
MILLION!!!

SPEAKS TO A KNOWN DESIRE

RAPID CONSUMPTION

00:02:24

IMPROVE THIS LEAD MAGNET

WHAT DOES
THIS LEAD
MAGNET DO
RIGHT?

HOW WOULD
YOU IMPROVE
THIS LEAD
MAGNET?

THE PERFECT LEAD MAGNET?

DELIVERING THE LEAD MAGNET

MORE LEAD MAGNET


EXAMPLES

1. BLIND/BENEFIT-CENTRIC

2. TOOLKIT/RESOURCE LIST

FOR MORE INFO SEE: http://www.leadpages.net/how-to-bribe

CASE STUDY #1: RAPID FILTER


BEFORE:

!

# of New Prospects:

6 Per Month

CASE STUDY #1: RAPID FILTER


BEFORE:

AFTER:

# of New Prospects:

# of New Prospects:

6 Per Month

6 PER DAY!!

20X INCREASE IN
QUALIFIED LEADS!!

3. ASSESSMENT/TEST

FOR MORE INFO SEE: http://marketing.grader.com/

4. QUIZ/SURVEY

FOR MORE INFO SEE:


http://mcleangolf.revolutiongolf.com/free-death-move-analysis-tool

5. DISCOUNT/FREE SHIPPING

FOR MORE INFO SEE: http://www.mycostumewigs.com/

6. CHEAT SHEETS/HANDOUTS

7. FREE DOWNLOAD/TRIAL

FOR MORE INFO SEE: http://www.evernote.com/

LANDING PAGE TIP:


SOMETIMES LESS (COPY) IS MORE...

FOOL-STYLE LANDING PAGE

FOOL-STYLE LANDING PAGE


- Our Version -

43% OPT-IN RATE


(COLD TRAFFIC)

FEEL FREE TO GET CREATIVE

55.35% Conversion Rate

54.95% Conversion Rate

53.68% Conversion Rate

60.34% Conversion Rate

ANY QUESTIONS?

2.
THE
TRIPWIRE

WHAT IS A
TRIPWIRE?

An irresistible, super-lowticket offer that converts


prospects into BUYERS!

TRIPWIRE CHECKLIST
Low barrier to entry / impulse buy

Easy to understand and explain

Seamlessly leads to the core sale

Useful but incomplete

Has a high perceived value (find their cheese)

Has a high ACTUAL value (positive first transaction)

TRIPWIRE TYPES

1. PHYSICAL PREMIUM

2. SMALL BUT CRITICAL

3. BOOK/REPORT

FOR MORE INFO SEE:


https://www.newsmaxstore.com/nm_mag/obamacare_911b.cfm

CASE STUDY #2: SURVIVAL LIFE


List Size: 113,636 - ONE PRODUCT ($47)

TURNED A BONUS INTO A TRIPWIRE

CASE STUDY #2: SURVIVAL LIFE


List Size: 113,636 - ONE PRODUCT ($47)

$7 Sales: 9,926 in 30 Days (8% Conversion Rate!!)

2,536 bought the $47 course!!!

!

TRIPWIRE SALES:
$69,482

CORE OFFER SALES: $119,192

TOTAL SALES:
$188,674 (from a dead list)

SURVIVAL LIFE CASE STUDY


- 1000 CLICK SNAPSHOT -

BEFORE: 1.5% average conversion rate (at $47)



$705 / 1000 visitors

AFTER:

TRIPWIRE: 8% at $7 = $640 / 1000 visitors

CORE OFFER: 30% at $47 = $1,128 / 1000 visitors

TOTAL REVENUE: $1,768 / 1000 visitors
(160% INCREASE!!!)

4. WEBINAR

FOR MORE INFO SEE: http://sneakyemailtricks.com

5. SOFTWARE/PLUGIN

FOR MORE INFO SEE: http://www.freshkey.com

6. ALA CARTE SERVICE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=da9QGgKR558

CASE STUDY #3: MARKETING AGENCY

2000 attendees

603 people approached booth


87 people bought the tripwire - $20


19 converted to $500/mo. core immediate


23 more converted via phone after results


BEFORE: Average 3 new clients per show at $500/mo...

$21,300 mo. Recurring


7 Month Stick
!

$149,100
!

200 Trade Shows a Year

TRADE SHOW CASE STUDY


BEFORE: 3 clients at $500/mo ($10,500 LCV)

AFTER: 42 clients at $500/mo ($149,100 LCV)

PLUS: 87 tripwire clients that they can followup
with via the Return Path

PLUS: Tripwire sales covered booth costs ($20 x


87 = $1740)

CASE STUDY RECAP


Survival Life Case Study:

5X increase in total customers

160% IMMEDIATE Revenue Increase

Trade Show Case Study:

1437% Revenue Growth ($10,500 to $150,840)

$68,240 in IMMEDIATE Revenue

$82,600 in RETURN PATH Revenue (60 days later)

ANY QUESTIONS?

3.
CORE
OFFER

WHAT IS THE
CORE OFFER?

The core offer is the


companys flagship product
or service.

!

This is the offering they are


most known for, and most
proud of.

THE GOAL IS NOT TO OPTIMIZE

CONVERSION RATES...

THE GOAL IS TO OPTIMIZE

TOTAL REVENUE!!!

FLAWED MODEL

BIG TIP #1

NOTHING CONVERTS LIKE PROOF!

PROOF TRUMPS ALL!!


20% - 80% CONVERSION RATE INCREASE!

BIG TIP #2
Sequence Is Cri:cal

HTTP://PERRYBELCHER.COM/21-STEP-SALESLETTER/

BIG TIP #3
Op:mize Your Order Forms!

RESULTS:
CART ABANDONMENT CUT

HALF!!
(IN OTHER WORDS...SALES DOUBLED!!!)

OFFER TESTING CHECKLIST


Headline - Write 25 and test
your top 5

Product Deliverables

Graphics (if any) on top of page

Subheadline - Write 10 and test
top 3

Lead - Negative vs. Positive /


Story vs. Direct

Guarantee

Scarcity

VSL vs. Long-Form



If VSL

Voice

Speed

Volume

Background Image/Color

Autoplay vs. Click-To-Play

Last but certainly not least
Price!!!

ANY QUESTIONS?

4.
PROFIT
MAXIMIZER

WHAT IS A
Profit
MaXIMIZEr?

Whether it's an upsell (offering


someone more of what they
already bought) a cross-sell
(offering them a related
product or service) or a
subscription (offering them
access to a club, community or
association), every offer needs
something on the backend to
increase immediate average
customer value and overall
engagement with the buyer.

!

That, is the Profit Maximizer!

David Sulzer, an associate professor at Columbia University Medical Center

86

TYPES OF
PROFT
MAXIMIZERS

1. Immediate Upsells

2. Cross-Sells

3. Slack Adjusters

4. Bundles and Kits

5. Value Buckets

6. Line Extensions

7. Affiliate/CPA Offers

8. Premium Subscription

1. IMMEDIATE UPSELLS

SPEND $1.91 to get a person in the drive-thru



EARN $0.18 profit on a $2.09 burger sale

PROFIT $1.14 EXTRA on fries and Coke upsell

$1.32 Profit

(7.3 times that of the core sale)


CASE STUDY #4: CLEVELAND EQUIPMENT

CASE STUDY #4: CLEVELAND EQUIPMENT


Core Offer (Heat Sealer) - $250

40% Profit Margin - $100 per sale

Cost To Acquire (after AdWords costs) - $70

NET PROFIT = $30
Immediate Upsell (Extra Elements) - $60

100% Profit Margin (Free from the factory)

50% Take Rate = EXTRA $30 PER SALE!!!

100%
INCREASE IN PROFIT
ON JUST THAT ONE ITEM!!!

2. CROSS-SELLS

3. SLACK ADJUSTERS

EVENTS & CONSULTING

THE MAGIC QUESTION


3 Words That DOUBLED Our Business...

WANT SOME HELP?

OFFERING DONE-FOR-YOU CONSULTING


ADDED
AN
EXTRA
!

$453,000

...FROM A BASE OF JUST 1500 BUYERS!!

4. BUNDLES AND KITS

5. VALUE BUCKETS

6. LINE EXTENSIONS

7. AFFILIATE/CPA OFFERS

8. RECURRING
BILLING

$168,557.55
(a month)

$168,557.55
(a month)

...JUST BY ADDING A PREMIUM


SUBSCRIPTION OFFER TO THE
BACK OF PRODUCTS THEY WERE
ALREADY SELLING!!!

AND THE ULTIMATE FORMULA


FOR A CRAFTING A WINNING
PROFIT MAXIMIZER IS...

SPEED AND...

...AUTOMATION

1.

SPEED AND
AUTOMATION
UPSELLS
IDEAS

SOFTWARE/APPLICATION

2. DONE FOR YOU SERVICE


3. AUDIT/STRATEGY SESSION
4. PRIVATE LABELING
5. TEMPLATES/THEMES
6. SUPPLEMENTS
7.

EQUIPMENT/TOOLS

5.
RETURN
PATH

WHAT IS
RETURN
PATH?

Thanks to the lead magnet offer, we


now have the ability to go back to
non-buyers and put them into a
followup series to increase initial
conversions.

!

Equallyimportant, we also have the


ability to go back to our buyers who
didn't purchase everything in the sales
funnel (i.e. tripwire, core offer and
profit maximizer) to increase the
average customer value and overall
buyer frequency.

RETURN
PATH

1. CONSTANT STRATEGIC
COMMUNICATION
2. AUTOMATED FOLLOWUP
3. BANNER RETARGETING
4. CUSTOM AUDIENCE
MARKETING

1. CONSTANT
COMMUNICATION

IF YOU ARENT BROADCASTING YOUR


EMAIL LIST AT LEAST ONCE A WEEK
YOU OBVIOUSLY HATE MONEY!!!

BUT ITS NOT JUST EMAIL

2. AUTOMATED FOLLOWUP

3. BANNER RETARGETING

BANNER RETARGETING NETWORKS

Google AdWords Retargeting


AdRoll.com

Retargeter.com

Fetchback.com

Chango.com

PerfectAudience.com (Facebook)

4. CUSTOM AUDIENCE

CASE STUDY #5: SKIN CARE PRODUCT


List Size: 36,000

Launching a new skin care product

Ran FB Custom Audience to half the list (18,000)

!

COLD LEADS:
$2,563

PRE-SEASONED LEADS: $8,839

SALES INCREASE OF...

$6,276
FACEBOOK AD COST $238.13

Whole List Result?


$12,000+

SOUND HARD?
SOUND COMPLICATED?

IT IS...AND THATS WHY


YOU WILL WIN!

ANY QUESTIONS?

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