Notes, Errata, and Frequently Asked Questions: V.1.9 June, 2021-Return To The Circle Undone Edition
Notes, Errata, and Frequently Asked Questions: V.1.9 June, 2021-Return To The Circle Undone Edition
Notes and Errata The first part of this interlude should read:
“If an investigator resigned with the asset version of Daniel Chesterfield
under his or her control, proceed to Daniel Survived.
This section contains notes and errata pertaining to specific cards or If the enemy version of Daniel Chesterfield was in play when the scenario
sections of the rulebook. The document version number in which an entry ended, proceed to Daniel Was Possessed.
first appeared is listed with that entry in order to establish a history of when If neither of the above are true, proceed to Daniel Did Not Survive.”
each change was made.
(v1.41) The Depths of Yoth, “Intro 8” section
Errata overrides the originally printed information on the card it applies to. After the game text in this intro, add the following text:
Unless errata for a card appears below, the original English product printing “In your Campaign Log, cross off the investigators found the missing relic and
of that card and all of its information is considered accurate, and overrides record the relic is missing.”
all other printings. This includes translated cards, promotional or organized
play cards, and printings which may appear in alternate products. (v1.5) The Boundary Beyond, “Silent Journey” intro sidebar
The effect of this sidebar should read:
“Each investigator begins this scenario with 2 fewer cards in his or her
Rulebook Errata opening hand.”
(v1.0) Rules Reference page 7, column 1, “Costs” (v1.5) Interlude V: The Darkness, “Growing Concern” sidebar
The third bullet point should read: “When a player is exhausting, The effect of this sidebar should read:
sacrificing, or otherwise using cards to pay costs, only cards that are in play “Depending on your difficulty mode, add the following chaos token to the
and under that player’s control may be used…” chaos bag for the remainder of the campaign: Easy: –3, Standard: –4, Hard:
(v1.0) Rules Reference page 10, column 1, “Elimination” –5, Expert: –7”
Add the following, as step 0 (i.e. before step 1): “0. For the purpose of
resolving weakness cards, the game has ended for the eliminated
investigator. Trigger any “when the game ends” abilities on each
weakness the eliminated investigator owns that is in play. Then, remove
those weaknesses from the game.”
(v1.0) Rules Reference page 21, column 2, “Weakness”
The fifth bullet point should read: “If a weakness is added to a player’s deck,
hand, or threat area during the play of a scenario, that weakness remains
a part of that investigator’s deck for the rest of the campaign. (Unless it is
removed from the campaign by a card ability or scenario resolution.)
(v1.1) Rules Reference page 16, column 2, “Permanent”
The fourth bullet point should read: “A card with the permanent keyword
cannot leave play (except by elimination).”
(v1.3) Rules Reference page 19, column 1, “Slots”
The last paragraph should read: “If playing or gaining control of an asset
would put an investigator above his or her slot limit for that type of asset, the
investigator must choose and discard other assets under his or her control
simultaneously with the new asset entering the slot.”
2
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
(v1.5) The Witching Hour, Setup
The third bullet point should read:
Card Errata
“Put 5 Witch-Haunted Woods locations into play as follows: (v1.0) Roland’s .38 Special ( 6)
Daisy’s Tote Bag ( 8)
In player order, each investigator puts 1 random Witch-Haunted Woods On the Lam ( 10)
location into play in front of him or her, until there are exactly 5 Witch- Heirloom of Hyperborea ( 12)
Haunted Woods locations in play (see “Lost and Separated,” below). For Wendy’s Amulet ( 14)
example: In a 1-player game, there should be 5 Witch-Haunted Woods in front These cards have no level (instead of being level 0).
of that investigator. In a 2-player game, there should be 3 Witch-Haunted Woods
in front of the lead investigator and 2 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the other (v1.9) Wendy’s Amulet ( 14)
investigator. In a 3-player game, there should be 2 Witch-Haunted Woods in front This card’s Forced ability should read: “Forced – After you play an event or
of the lead investigator, 2 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the next investigator, discard an event from play:…”
and 1 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the final investigator. In a 4-player game, (v1.0) Smite the Wicked ( 7)
there should be 2 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the lead investigator, and 1 This card’s Forced ability should read: “When the game ends, if attached
Witch-Haunted Woods in front of each other investigator.” enemy is in play: Zoey Samaras suffers 1 mental trauma.”
(v1.5) The Wages of Sin, resolutions section (v1.0) Searching for Izzie ( 11)
The first line should read: This card’s Forced ability should read: “When the game ends, if Searching
“If no resolution was reached and at least one investigator resigned: for Izzie is in play: Jenny Barnes suffers 1 mental trauma.”
Proceed to Resolution 1.” (v1.1) Burned Ruins (revealed) ( 205)
(v1.6) The Blob That Ate Everything, resolutions section This card’s first ability should read: “Forced – After you fail a skill test while
Resolution 3 should read “Resolution 2.” investigating the Burned Ruins: Flip 1 clue token on the Burned Ruins to its
doom side.”
(v1.8) Return to Threads of Fate
Add the following bullet point to the resolution of this scenario: (v1.1) Lucky Dice ( 230)
This card’s ability should read: “When you reveal a non- chaos token,
Æ If the Harbinger of Valusia entered play during this scenario: spend 2 resources: Ignore that chaos token and reveal another one to
= If it is in the victory display, cross out “the Harbinger is still alive” in resolve. If that token has a symbol, remove Lucky Dice from the game
your Campaign Log. (cannot be ignored/canceled).”
= If it is still in play or is set aside, next to “the Harbinger is still alive” in (v1.2) Peter Clover ( 79)
your Campaign Log, record in parentheses how much damage is on O’Bannion’s Thug ( 97)
the Harbinger of Valusia, replacing the number that was previously in Mobster ( 98)
parentheses. The “Human” trait on each of these cards should read “Humanoid” instead.
(v1.2) Clover Club Pit Boss ( 78)
This enemy’s traits should be “Humanoid. Criminal. Elite.”
(v1.2) The Gold Pocket Watch ( 305)
Each of this card’s symbols should be symbols, instead.
(v1.2) Dr. William T. Maleson ( 302)
This card’s ability should read: “When you draw an encounter card from
the encounter deck…”
(v1.2) Corrosion ( 102)
This card’s Revelation ability should read: “Discard Item assets from your
play area and/or from your hand…”
(v1.2) Agenda 1a—The Truth is Hidden ( 121)
Agenda 2a—Ransacking the Manor ( 122)
Agenda 3a—Secrets Better Left Hidden ( 123)
The first ability on each of these agendas should read: “Skip the ‘Place
1 doom on the current agenda’ step of the Mythos phase.”
(v1.2) Historical Society (Historical Museum) ( 130 & 132)
This location’s ability should read: “While investigating this location, your
cannot be increased.”
(v1.2) Patient Confinement ( 178-181)
Each of these locations should not have the “Arkham Asylum” trait.
(v1.3) Candlelit Tunnels ( 252)
This location’s ability should read: “…If you succeed, look at the revealed
side of any Catacombs location in play.”
(v1.3) Catacombs Docent ( 258)
This enemy’s ability should read: “…If you succeed, look at the revealed side
of any Catacombs location in play.”
3
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
(v1.3) Madness Dies ( 319) (v1.5) Eldritch Inspiration ( 33)
This act’s second ability should read: “Hastur cannot be defeated unless an This card’s play requirement should read: “Play when you would resolve an
investigator ‘knows the secret.’” effect on a card that triggers “when,” “if,” or “after” a , , , , or
(v1.3) Henry Armitage ( 40) symbol is revealed.”
This card’s ability should read: “After you draw a non-weakness card, (v1.6) Drawing the Sign ( 41)
discard that card…” This card’s second ability should read: “Your maximum hand size is reduced
(v1.4) Shortcut (level 2) ( 232) by 5.”
This card’s ability should read: “…Any investigator at this location (v1.6) Laboratory Assistant ( 20)
may trigger this ability.” This card’s first ability should read: “Your maximum hand size is increased
(v1.4) Time Warp ( 311) by 2.”
The second part of this card’s ability should read: “Undo that action (return (v1.6) Act 1b—A Sacrifice Made ( 277)
the game state to exactly the way it was before that action was performed, The two instructions on this card should be reversed, as follows:
except for the playing of Time Warp and its costs).” “Remove all clues from each location in play. The arcane presence masking
(v1.4) Realm of Madness ( 338) the path further up the hill has faded. Reveal Ascending Path.”
This card’s Revelation ability should read: “Discard cards from your play (v1.6) Agenda 2a—Death’s Approach ( 163)
area and/or from your hand…” This card’s ability should read: “Locations cannot be flipped to their
(v1.4) Father Mateo ( 4) non‑Spectral side.”
This card’s ability should read: “When an investigator reveals an (v1.6) Act 1a—In Pursuit of the Dead ( 164)
chaos token…” This card’s ability should read: “Locations cannot be flipped to their
(v1.4) Yaotl ( 35) Spectral side.”
This card’s ability should read: “Discard the top card of your deck. (v1.6) Unfinished Business (Bring me to him…) ( 178b)
(Limit once per phase.)” (v1.6) Unfinished Business (Burn…let it burn…) ( 178b)
(v1.41) The Skeleton Key ( 270) (v1.6) Unfinished Business (They stole it from me…) ( 178b)
This card’s ability should read: “If The Skeleton Key is in your play area, (v1.6) Unfinished Business (My bones…) ( 178b)
attach it to your location…” This card’s first ability should read: “Keep this card in your threat area (this
side faceup). If you are eliminated, flip it over.”
(v1.4) Barricade (level 3) ( 4)
This card’s constant ability should read: “Each time a non-Elite enemy would (v1.6) Guiding Spirit ( 236)
spawn at attached location, spawn it at a connecting location instead, if able.” This card’s Forced ability should read: “When Guiding Spirit is defeated by
horror: Exile it.”
(v1.5) Carolyn Fern (Novella Promo 10)
This card’s Deckbuilding Options should read: “Guardian cards () level (v1.9) Bait and Switch (level 3) ( 282)
0-3, Neutral cards level 0-5, cards that ‘heal horror’ level 0-5, up to 15 other This card’s trait should be Trick instead of Tactic.
Seeker and/or Mystic cards level 0-1 ( and/or ).” (v1.7) Act 1b—Palace of the Old Ones ( 329)
(v1.5) Zoey Samaras ( 1) This card’s second line of game text should read: “Shuffle each empty space
This card’s Deckbuilding Options should read: “…up to five other level 0 into its owner’s deck and each location in play other than Hideous Palace
cards from any other classes (, , , and/or ).” into the Cosmos.”
4
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
(v1.9) Seeking Answers (level 2) ( 27) For example: Under “Deckbuilding Requirements” for Roland Banks,
This card’s ability should read: “…If you succeed, instead of discovering a the following cards are listed: “Roland’s .38 Special, Cover Up, 1 random
clue at your location, discover 2 total clues from among your location and basic weakness.” Roland Banks must include exactly 1 copy of his
connecting locations.” signature cards—Roland’s .38 Special and Cover Up. He is not permitted
to include more than 1 copy of either of these cards.
(v1.9) Yaztaroth ( 18)
This card’s constant ability should read: “You cannot play assets or put = An investigator cannot control another investigator’s signature cards.
assets into play.” For example: Roland has the Roland’s .38 Special card in play. He has
the card “Teamwork” which can allow investigators at the same location
(v1.9) Norman Withers ( 7)
to trade or give assets among one another. However, because Roland’s
This card’s Deckbuilding Options should read: “...up to other 5 Mystic
.38 Special is one of Roland’s signature cards, he cannot give it to
cards () level 0.”
another investigator.
(v1.8) Amanda Sharpe ( 2)
= Signature cards need not abide by typical deckbuilding restrictions,
This card’s symbol should be “Forced –” instead.
and do not count toward any deckbuilding limitations if other cards
(v1.9) Guided by the Unseen ( 223) share the same title.
This card’s ability should read “…(Limit once per test.)”
(v1.9) Act 1a—Back into the Depths ( 315) Rulings and Clarifications
This card’s Objective ability should read: “…you may choose to advance”
instead of “…advance.” This section contains additions and clarifications to the core game rules.
Each entry is presented with a unique section number so it can be easily
Definitions and Terms identified when making rulings, answering questions, or otherwise referring
This section provides definitions for important terms that serve a precise to the entry.
function in the game. The terms are presented in alphabetical order. It should be used in conjunction with the Rules Reference to establish the
“Record in your Campaign Log…” rules of play. If the text of this document directly contradicts the text of the
Rules Reference, the text of this document takes precedence.
Often the players will be instructed to record a key phrase in the Campaign
Log. This should be written under “Campaign Notes” unless specified
otherwise. Because the players may be instructed to check the Campaign
1. Game Play
Log for this phrase at a later time in the campaign, the indicated phrase (1.1) Attacks of Opportunity
should be recorded as it appears, without alteration. Attacks of Opportunity are only triggered when 1 or more of an investigator’s
For example: If the players are instructed to record in the Campaign Log that actions are being spent or used to trigger an ability or action. abilities
“the investigators were four hours late,” this shouldn’t be rewritten as “the with a bold action designator do not provoke attacks of opportunity.
investigators were pretty late,” because the exact number of hours might be
important in a later scenario. (1.2) Triggered Abilities
An investigator is permitted to use triggered abilities (, , and
“Remember that…” abilities) from the following sources:
Sometimes a scenario card will instruct the investigators to “remember” = A card in play and under his or her control. This includes his or her
a key phrase, often based on an action they have taken or a decision they investigator card.
have made within that scenario. This phrase may come up later during that
scenario, and may trigger additional or different effects. There is no need = A scenario card that is in play and at the same location as the
to record this phrase in the Campaign Log, because it will only ever matter investigator. This includes the location itself, encounter cards placed
during that scenario, or during that scenario’s resolution. The players do not at that location, and all encounter cards in the threat area of any
need to “remember” any such instruction beyond the end of the scenario in investigator at that location.
which it appears. = The current act or current agenda card.
If a “remember” effect uses the word “you,” it is specific to the investigator = Any card that explicitly allows the investigator to activate its ability.
resolving the effect.
(1.3) Reaction () Opportunities
Signature Cards When a triggering condition resolves, investigators are granted the
n investigator’s “signature cards” are the cards that are only available to that opportunity to resolve abilities in response to that triggering condition.
investigator, and cannot be included in another investigator’s deck. This It is only after all investigators have passed their reaction opportunity that
includes player cards with the text “(Investigator Name) deck only,” as well the game moves forward.
as non-basic weaknesses that are listed under “Deckbuilding Requirements” Using a ability in response to a triggering condition does not prevent other
and therefore can only be included in that investigator’s deck. abilities from being used in response to that same triggering condition.
Signature cards are governed by the following additional rules: For example: Roland has just defeated an enemy and wishes to trigger his
= The number of each signature card listed under an investigator’s ability: “After you defeat an enemy: Discover 1 clue at your location.” He
“Deckbuilding Requirements” is the exact number of copies of that discovers 1 clue at his location. He may then play Evidence! ( 22) in response
card that is to be included in that investigator’s deck. If no number is to defeating that same enemy. As both cards have the same triggering condition
specified, that number is 1. (“After you defeat an enemy”), triggering one of these reactions does not prevent
Roland from triggering the other.
5
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
(1.4) Nested Sequences (1.6) Additional Costs
Each time a triggering condition occurs, the following sequence is followed: Some cards add additional costs that must be paid in order to perform
(1) execute “when…” effects that interrupt that triggering condition, certain effects or actions, in the form of “As an additional cost to (specified
(2) resolve the triggering condition, and then, (3) execute “after…” effects in effect/action) you must (additional cost)” or “You must (additional cost) to
response to that triggering condition. (specified effect/action).”
Within this sequence, if the use of a or Forced ability leads to a new Additional costs are costs that can be paid outside the normal timing point
triggering condition, the game pauses and starts a new sequence: (1) execute of paying costs (for instance, during the resolution of an effect). If an effect
“when…” effects that interrupt the new triggering condition, (2) resolve the that requires an additional cost would resolve, the additional cost must be
new triggering condition, and then, (3) execute “after…” effects in response paid at that time. If the additional cost cannot be paid, that aspect of the
to the new triggering condition. This is called a nested sequence. Once effect fails to resolve.
this nested sequence is completed, the game returns to where it left off, Additional costs do not have to be paid when a Forced effect or mandatory
continuing with the original triggering condition’s sequence. instruction (such as in the Campaign Guide, or on the back of an Act or
It is possible that a nested sequence generates further triggering conditions Agenda card) requires an investigator to resolve an effect.
(and hence more nested sequences). There is no limit to the number of For example: “Ashcan” Pete is at the Miskatonic Quad and activates Duke’s
nested sequences that may occur, but each nested sequence must complete second ability, which reads: “ Exhaust Duke: Investigate. You investigate
before returning to the sequence that spawned it. In effect, these sequences with a base skill of 4. You may move to a connecting location immediately before
are resolved in a Last In, First Out (LIFO) manner. investigating with this effect.” Pete pays the cost to activate this ability, which
For example: Roland and Agnes are embroiled in a fierce battle. Roland has a is spending one action and exhausting Duke. Then Pete resolves the ability,
Guard Dog in his play area, and is engaged with a Goat Spawn with 2 damage first moving to the Orne Library, followed by investigating. The Orne Library,
on it. Agnes is engaged with a Ghoul Minion. Roland wishes to play a .45 however, reads: “You must spend 1 additional action to investigate the Orne
Automatic, which provokes an attack of opportunity from the Goat Spawn, Library.” This adds an additional cost that must be paid in order to investigate
dealing 1 damage to Roland. Roland assigns this damage to his Guard Dog, the Orne Library. This additional cost is paid when the investigate action would
which has a ability: “When an enemy attack deals damage to Guard Dog: resolve, outside the normal timing point for paying costs. If Pete cannot spend the
Deal 1 damage to the attacking enemy.” Before resolving the playing of Roland’s additional action, that aspect of Duke’s effect fails to resolve.
.45 Automatic, Guard Dog’s ability resolves, and 1 damage is dealt to the Goat (1.7) Skill Test Results and Advanced Timing
Spawn, which would defeat it. Goat Spawn has the following Forced ability: During Step 7 of Skill Test Timing (“Apply skill test results”), all of the
“When Goat Spawn is defeated: Each investigator at this location takes 1 effects of the successful skill test are determined and resolved, one at a time.
horror.” Before resolving the damage dealt to the Guard Dog, 1 horror is dealt to This includes the effects of the test itself (such as the clue discovered while
each investigator at the location, including Agnes, who has a ability: “After investigating, or the damage dealt during an attack), as well as any “If this test
1 or more horror is placed on Agnes Baker: Deal 1 damage to an enemy at your is successful…” effects from card abilities or skill cards committed to the test.
location.” Before resolving the Goat Spawn’s defeat, Agnes deals 1 damage to the
Ghoul Minion engaged with her. Now that there are no further or Forced or Forced abilities with a triggering condition dependent upon the
abilities to trigger, the players return to the previous triggering condition and skill test being successful or unsuccessful (such as “After you successfully
resolve the Goat Spawn’s defeat, and resolve any “After…” effects that might investigate,” or “After you fail a skill test by 2 or more”) do not trigger at this
occur when it is defeated. Then, the players resolve the damage dealt to the Guard time. These abilities are triggered during Step 6, “Determine success/failure
Dog, and resolve any “After…” effects that might occur from that damage. of skill test.”
Finally, the players return to the original triggering condition, and Roland is (1.8) Experience Cost for Level 0 Cards
able to put his .45 Automatic into play. When purchasing a new card during campaign play, an investigator must
(1.5) Choices, and the Grim Rule pay a minimum of 1 experience. As a result, level 0 cards cost 1 experience
When investigators are forced to make a choice and there are multiple valid to purchase. This minimum only applies when purchasing new cards. It does
options, the lead investigator decides between those options. The Grim not permanently alter a card’s level or experience cost, and does not apply
Rule does not play a part in these choices. when upgrading a card to a higher level version.
For example: Locked Door reads “Attach to the location with the most clues, (1.9) Wild (?) Skill Icons
and without a Locked Door attached.” If there are 3 locations that are tied for A Wild (?) skill icon on a player card may be used to match any other skill
the most clues, and none of them already have a Locked Door attached, the lead icon for the purposes of both card abilities and counting how many matching
investigator decides between those 3 locations. Players are not forced to decide icons are committed to a skill test. When using Wild icons for the purpose of
which of those 3 options would be the objectively worst option. resolving a card ability, a player must state which icon the Wild is matching at
the time the card is used.
The Grim Rule only comes into effect if players are unable to find the answer
to a rules or timing conflict, and are thus unable to continue playing the Wild icons committed to a skill test are considered “matching” icons for the
game. It is designed to keep the game moving when looking up the correct purposes of card abilities.
answer would be too time-consuming or inconvenient for the players. The (1.10) Taking and Losing Additional Actions
Grim Rule is not an exhaustive answer to rules/timing conflicts. Some card abilities grant investigators “additional actions.” If an investigator
has one or more additional actions during his or her turn, the first action he
or she takes that is able to qualify as that additional action automatically uses
that additional action.
For example: Daisy Walker reads: “You may take an additional action during
your turn, which can only be used on Tome abilities.” The first time Daisy
performs a Tome ability each turn, it automatically uses up that additional
action, and not one of Daisy’s three standard actions.
6
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
If an action qualifies as more than one of an investigator’s additional actions, = Cards and Campaign Guides are written with the assumption
he or she may choose which additional action is used. that investigators are not being transferred from one campaign to
If an effect causes an investigator to lose one or more actions, that another. For this reason, campaigns are sometimes referred to as
investigator has that many fewer standard actions to take that turn (the “the campaign.” (For example, “ for the remainder of the campaign…”)
investigator’s three standard actions are the ones that are “lost” first). If an In general, when interpreting such effects, treat each campaign as
investigator only has additional actions remaining, those are then lost, in an being separate from one another. However, some effects should be
order of the investigator’s choosing. interpreted as if each campaign played is part of one continuous
uninterrupted campaign. This includes rules that dictate how an
For example: An effect causes Daisy to lose two actions. She has two fewer earned weakness or story asset operates, or additional rules that a
standard actions to take during her turn. She cannot choose to “lose” her specific investigator must follow. (For example, “ for the remainder of
additional action unless it is the only action she has remaining. the campaign, the bearer of X weakness must only speak in French.”)
(1.11) Transferring Investigators to a New Campaign (1.12) Weaknesses With Encounter Cardtypes
This section expands on the ability for investigators to transfer from a Weaknesses with an encounter cardtype (such as enemies or treacheries)
completed campaign to another campaign, as originally described in the are considered to be player cards while they are in their bearer’s deck, and
section “The End…or Is It?” in the Night of the Zealot campaign guide. are considered to be encounter cards while they are being resolved, and
Note: The standard rules of the game dictate that players start each campaign once they have entered play. Before a weakness with an encounter cardtype
with a clean state (new decks and 0 experience). The following is an optional is resolved, it is still considered to be a player card.
variant that is likely to affect the game’s balance. Only intrepid investigators who (1.13) Shuffling A Card Into An Empty Player/Encounter Deck
wish to embrace the chaos should choose this option. A single card cannot be shuffled into an empty player deck or encounter
When transferring one or more investigators from a completed campaign to deck via card effect. If this shuffling would occur during the playing or
a new campaign, players should observe the following rules: revelation of a card that is typically discarded after it is resolved, such as an
event or treachery card, it is discarded. Otherwise, the card remains in its
= Not all surviving investigators in the original campaign need to be current game area.
transferred. It is okay to transfer some and start fresh with others.
(1.14) Control of Attachments
= Investigator decks remain the same. This includes all story assets and An attachment may change control depending on the card it is attached to.
weaknesses earned in the original campaign, as well as experience
gained and trauma suffered. Everything recorded in the campaign log = If an investigator attaches a player card to a player card he or she
under that investigator’s “Earned Story Assets / Weaknesses” should controls, he or she retains control of the attachment.
be transferred to the new campaign, as well. = If an investigator attaches a player card to a player card another
= All other notes in the Campaign Log should be wiped clean and do investigator controls, that other investigator takes control of the
not transfer to the new campaign. attachment.
= The chaos bag is reset. This includes all additional chaos tokens that = If a player card with 1 or more player attachments changes control,
were added to the chaos bag throughout the original campaign. the card’s new controller takes control of those player attachments.
= If an investigator attaches a player card to an encounter card, he or
she retains control of the attachment (but does not gain control of the
attached encounter card).
7
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
(1.15) Deckbuilding Options (1.17) Nested Skill Tests
The following section clarifies how certain investigators’ deckbuilding A skill test cannot initiate during another skill test. If during the resolution of
options function. a skill test another skill test would initiate, instead the second skill test does
= If one of the categories of an investigator’s deckbuilding options not initiate until the first skill test has finished resolving. If the first skill test
contains the word “other” in it, cards only fall into this category was part of an action, the second skill test does not initiate until that action
if they fall into no other category. (For example, if an investigator’s has finished resolving.
deckbuilding options reads: “Guardian cards level 0–5, up to 10 other For example: Ursula performing an investigate action. As part of this investigate
Weapon cards,” then a Guardian card with the Weapon trait would not action, she must perform an test. During the resolution of that skill test, she
occupy one of those 10 limited slots, because it first falls into the unlimited plays Expose Weakness, a fast event which initiates another test. Instead of
Guardian category). resolving the second test during the first one, the initiation of the second test
= If one of the categories of an investigator’s deckbuilding options lists is delayed until after the first skill test (and therefore the investigate action) has
card text in it, cards fall into this category if the listed text appears in finished resolving.
the card in any capacity, even if it is circumstantial. (For example, if an (1.18) Maintaining Legal Deck Size
investigator’s deckbuilding options reads: “cards that ‘heal horror’ level If 1 or more cards are forcibly removed from an investigator’s deck and
0–5,” any card with an ability that heals any amount of horror will fall returned to the collection (such as when a card is exiled, or when a
into this category, even if it only heals horror under specific circumstances.) campaign effect forces an investigator to remove cards from their deck),
(1.16) Multi-class Cards that investigator must purchase cards so that a legal deck size is maintained.
A multi-class card is a card which bears multiple class icons instead of one, When purchasing cards in this manner, that investigator may purchase level 0
and is a card of each of those classes. For example, a card with both a Rogue cards at 0 experience cost until a legal deck size is reached.
() and a Guardian () icon is both a Rogue card and a Guardian card for = This rule also applies if an effect alters an investigator’s deck size,
all purposes. Generally, a multi-class card can be included in an investigator’s deckbuilding restrictions, or deckbuilding options such that 1 or
deck if that investigator has access to either of that card’s classes. more cards must be removed from or added to their deck as a result.
If an investigator has limited access to one of the classes on a multiclass (1.19) Bonded Card Limit
card and unlimited access to one of the other classes on that card, it will If an investigator’s deck contains a card that summons one or more bonded
still occupy one of the investigator’s limited slots unless their deckbuilding cards, those bonded cards are set aside at the start of each game. The
options contains the word “other” in it (see 1.15, above). number of copies of each different bonded card that are set aside in this
way is equal to the number of copies of that were included in the product in
The following section clarifies how multi-class cards operate depending on
which that bonded card was introduced. The number of cards in your deck
how an investigator’s deckbuilding options are presented.
that summon the bonded card in question does not factor into this limit.
= Investigators with unlimited access to more than one class
For example: An investigator may only have 3 copies of Soothing Melody ( 314)
(i.e. All Core Set investigators, Minh Thi Phan, Sefina Rousseau,
set aside at the start of the game. Similarly, an investigator may only have 1
William Yorick, Leo Anderson, Joe Diamond, Preston Fairmont,
Essence of the Dream ( 113) set aside at the start of the game, regardless of how
Diana Stanley): A multi-class card can be included in that
many copies of Dream Diary ( 112) they include in their deck.
investigator’s deck if it falls into either of the listed classes.
(1.20) Myriad Cards in Standalone Mode
= Investigators from The Dunwich Legacy expansion (i.e. Zoey
When counting the total amount of experience in your deck, each
Samaras, Rex Murphy, Jenny Barnes, Jim Culver, “Ashcan” Pete):
copy of a Myriad card after the first copy does not count towards your
A multi-class card will not occupy one of these investigator’s five
experience total.
“out of class” slots if one of its classes is the class they have unlimited
access to. A card cannot take up more than one “out of class” slot, (1.21) Being at No Location
regardless of how many class icons the card bears. Unless explicitly specified by game text, enemies and investigators must
always be at a location during gameplay. If an effect (such as a “cannot
= Investigators with unlimited access to one class and limited
move” effect) would cause an investigator or enemy to not be at a location,
access to one or more “other” classes (i.e. Marie Lambeau, Finn
Edwards, Carolyn Fern, investigators from Edge of the Earth): A ignore that effect.
multi-class card will not occupy one of the investigator’s limited (1.22) Hidden Cards in Hand When Eliminated
slots, because it falls into the unlimited category (see Deckbuilding When an investigator is eliminated, each encounter card in their hand with
Options, expanded, above). the hidden keyword should be placed in the encounter discard pile, in the
same way as encounter cards in their threat area.
= Lola Hayes: A multi-class card will count as a card of each of its
classes toward her Deckbuilding Requirement.
8
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
2. Card Ability Interpretation (2.5) Resolving Multiple Revealed Chaos Tokens
If an investigator is instructed to “resolve” multiple revealed chaos tokens,
(2.1) “You/Your,” expanded any game or card effects which refer to “the revealed chaos token” in the
The following guidelines are used to interpret which investigator is singular should be construed to apply to each of the revealed chaos tokens.
referenced by the words “you” and “your.” For example, when applying chaos symbol effects during Step 4 of a skill
test or applying modifiers to an investigator’s skill value during Step 5 of a
= A Revelation ability that references “you/your” refers to the skill test, the effects and modifiers of all of the resolved chaos tokens should
investigator who drew the card and is resolving the ability. be applied, even though the rules state “the revealed chaos token.” Similarly,
= When resolving a triggered ability (, , or ability), “you/ any card effects that refer to “the revealed chaos token” refer to all of the
your” refers to the investigator triggering the ability. resolved tokens.
= If an ability contains a clause identifying whom it is targeting, For example: An investigator plays Premonition ( 199), which reads: “Put
“you/your” in that ability refers to those investigators. For example, Premonition into play, reveal a random chaos token from the chaos bag, and
Stubborn Detective ( 103) reads: “While Stubborn Detective is at your seal it on Premonition.” That investigator then uses Olive McBride ( 197)
location…” this clause identifies “you” as any investigator at his location. to “reveal 3 chaos tokens instead of 1, choose 2 of those tokens to resolve, and
Young Deep One reads: “After Young Deep One engages you…” this clause ignore the other.” In this case, both of the resolved tokens would be sealed on
identifies “you” as any investigator who engages Young Deep One. Premonition, even though Premonition only refers to the revealed token as
= Any other instance of “you/your” that does not fall into the above a singular token. Likewise, when Premonition instructs that investigator to
categories refers to the investigator who controls the card, the “Resolve the token sealed here as if it were just revealed from the chaos bag,” the
investigator who has the card in his/her threat area, or who is investigator should resolve both of the tokens sealed on it.
currently interacting with the card. Additionally, when resolving multiple chaos tokens, any game or card
A card may have multiple different abilities in which “you/your” may be effects which trigger if a certain chaos token is revealed—such as the text
interpreted differently. “You/your” may refer to a different investigator in “If the named chaos token is revealed during this skill test…” on Recall
each of these abilities. the Future ( 158)—will trigger if any of the resolved chaos tokens meet
the specified conditions. Such an effect will not trigger twice if two of the
For example: Dreams of R’lyeh reads: designated tokens are resolved.
“Revelation - Put Dreams of R’lyeh into play in your threat area. Note that this entry only applies when multiple chaos tokens are “resolved.”
You get –1 and –1 sanity. If multiple chaos tokens are revealed and all but 1 of them are canceled or
: Test (3). If you succeed, Discard Dreams of R’lyeh.” ignored, this entry does not apply.
These three abilities reference “you/your” in different ways. For the Revelation (2.6) Replacing an Opening Hand
ability, “your” refers to the investigator who drew Dreams of R’lyeh and is If an ability replaces an investigator’s opening hand with a different set
resolving its Revelation. For its constant ability, “you” refers to the investigator of cards, that set of cards is considered to be their new opening hand for
who has Dreams of R’lyeh in his or her threat area. For its ability, “you” the purposes of effects which would alter the number of cards in their
refers to the investigator who is performing the ability. opening hand.
(2.2) Timing of “At…” or “If…” abilities If an ability replaces an investigator’s opening hand with a number of cards
Some abilities have triggering conditions that use the words “at” or “if ” “kept” from a larger set of cards, an effect which alters the number of cards
instead of specifying “when” or “after,” such as “at the end of the round,” or “if in that investigator’s opening hand alters both the cards originally drawn
the Ghoul Priest is defeated.” These abilities trigger in between any “when…” to replace that opening hand, and the number of cards “kept” from that
abilities and any “after…” abilities with the same triggering condition. larger set.
(2.3) Limits Pertaining to Play Areas For example, the ability on Sefina Rousseau ( 3) reads: “When you would
Some limits may pertain to a particular play area, such as “Limit 1 per deck,” draw your opening hand: Draw 13 cards, instead. Choose up to 5 events to place
“Limit 1 in the victory display,” or “Limit 1 in play.” This limit restricts the beneath this card and keep 8 cards as your opening hand. Discard the rest.” If a
number of copies of that card (by title) that can exist in the specified play card effect or game effect alters the number of cards in Sefina’s opening hand, it
area. Another copy of that card cannot enter the specified play area if this would alter both the number of cards drawn from her ability and the number of
limit has already been reached. Remember that limits are player specific cards she keeps as her opening hand.
unless otherwise noted. For example, a card with “Limit 1 per deck” can
exist in two different investigator decks. (2.7) Taking Control of Set-Aside Cards
If an effect instructs an investigator to take control of a card that is currently
Note: “Limit X per investigator” is a limit that pertains to an investigator’s set-aside, that effect puts that card into play in that investigator’s play area.
play area.
(2.8) Counting Resources
(2.4) Engaging Enemies vs Being Engaged by Enemies If an ability refers to the number of “resources you have,” “your resources,”
When an investigator engages an enemy, that enemy has also engaged that or any variation on the above, it is only referring to the number of resources
investigator, and vice-versa. There is no difference between engaging an in that investigator’s resource pool. Resources on other cards that
enemy and being engaged by an enemy. Effects that trigger “after an enemy investigator controls do not count toward this total unless explicitly stated.
engages you” will trigger at the same time as effects that trigger “after you
engage an enemy.”
9
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
(2.9) Automatic Success/Failure, expanded (2.10) “As if…”
Some card effects make an investigator automatically succeed or Some card effects allow an investigator to resolve an ability or perform
automatically fail a skill test. If this occurs, depending on the timing of such an action as if a certain aspect of the game state were altered, using the
an effect, certain steps of the skill test may be skipped in their entirety. text “as if…” to indicate the difference. The indicated ability or action is
= If it is known that an investigator automatically succeeds or fails at resolved with the altered game state in mind, but the actual game state
a skill test before Step 3 (“Reveal chaos token”) occurs, that step is remains unchanged.
skipped, along with Step 4. No chaos token(s) are revealed from the = The game state is considered to be altered throughout the duration
chaos bag, and the investigator immediately moves to Step 5. All of the indicated ability or action, from its initiation (including the
other steps of the skill test resolve as normal. paying of its costs, attacks of opportunity, etc) through the resolution
= If a chaos token effect causes an investigator to automatically succeed of each aspect of its effect, and up until its completion.
or fail at a skill test, continue with Steps 3 and 4, as normal. = Other card abilities or game effects resolved during this duration are
= If an ability “automatically evades” 1 or more enemies, this is not the also resolved with the altered game state in mind.
same as automatically succeeding at an evasion attempt. As per the = The game state is not physically altered in any way. (e.g. if you are
entry on “Evade” in the Rules Reference, if an ability automatically considered to be at a location, you do not move your mini-card to that
evades 1 or more enemies, no skill test is made for the evasion location, enemies at that location do not automatically move to your
attempt whatsoever. Consequentially, because no skill test is made, threat area, etc.)
it is not considered a “successful” evasion. The investigator simply For example: Luke Robinson ( 4) wants to play Preposterous Sketches
follows the steps for evading an enemy (exhausting it and breaking ( 186), but is at a location with no clues. One of the locations next to him
its engagement). has a clue on it, so he uses his ability to play Preposterous Sketches as if he were
For example: Patrice uses the ability on Hope ( 31), which reads: at that location and engaged with each enemy at that location. The game state
“ If Hope is ready, exhaust or discard him: Evade. Attempt to evade with a is considered to be altered in this way throughout the playing of Preposterous
base value of 5. (If you discarded Hope, this test is automatically successful.)” Sketches, from its initiation to its resolution. Among other things, this might
If Patrice chooses to discard Hope, the skill test automatically succeeds before mean: (a) if there is an enemy at that location, playing Preposterous Sketches
chaos tokens are revealed; therefore Steps 3 and 4 of the skill test are skipped. would provoke an attack of opportunity, (b) if that location has an ability
However, the skill test still takes place. Cards may still be committed to the test, that would alter the cost of playing the card, it would do so, and (c) other card
and the investigator’s total modified skill value is still determined, as it may have abilities that might trigger from Luke drawing 1 or more cards would do so as if
some bearing on other card abilities. However, if Patrice instead uses the ability he were at that connecting location and engaged with that enemy, and so on and
on Stray Cat ( 76), which reads: “ Discard Stray Cat: Automatically so forth. Once Preposterous Sketches has finished resolving and is placed in the
evade a non-Elite enemy at your location,” no skill test is made whatsoever. discard pile, Luke is no longer considered to be at that location and engaged with
each enemy at that location.
(2.11) “…unless all of (location’s) clues have been discovered.”
Some locations have abilities that prevent you from entering or using
a particular ability unless all of the clues have been discovered from a
particular location; for example, the Engine Car ( 175–177). When
interpreting such an ability, if the location is unrevealed (and therefore has
no clues on it), this does not satisfy the ability; it must have been revealed at
some point.
(2.12) Interpreting “You” When Taking or Being Dealt Damage
When an ability refers to “you” in response to taking damage or being dealt
damage, it also includes any assets you control.
For example: The ability on Survival Knife ( 17) triggers “after an enemy
attack deals damage to you during the enemy phase.” This ability triggers even
if the damage from that attack is assigned to one or more of your assets, and not
your investigator card. However, if all of the damage from that attack is assigned
to another investigator or their assets (through the use of a card effect that allows
them to do so), then no damage has been dealt to you.
10
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Frequently Asked Questions Who gets the effects/benefits of a skill card committed to another investigator’s
skill test? If I commit Overpower ( 91) to another investigator’s skill test, do
I get to draw 1 card, or does the investigator performing the skill test get to draw
This section provides answers to a number of common questions that are 1 card?
asked about the game. The entries are presented in a question and answer
format, with the newest questions at the end of the list. Generally speaking, the player who committed the skill card gets the
effects of any ability on that skill card. In your example, you would draw
Can I investigate a location with no clues on it? If I do, what happens? the 1 card, not the investigator performing the skill test. However, if a skill
Yes. You can investigate a location even if there are no clues on it. However, card changes or adds to the results of the skill test itself, the investigator
you won’t be able to discover any clues there, because there are no clues on the performing the test receives the benefit of that ability. For example, if you
location to discover. Investigating a location with no clues might still be useful committed Deduction ( 39) to another investigator’s skill test, that
to trigger card abilities such as Burglary ( 45) or Scavenging ( 73). investigator would be discovering the additional clue, not you, because you
are altering the effects of his or her skill test.
Are clues on Cover Up ( 7) considered to be “at my location” for the purposes
of Roland’s ability? When I use the ability on Stray Cat ( 76), can I choose any enemy at my
location, even if they are engaged with other investigators?
No. Generally speaking, cards (such as investigators, assets under your
control, enemies in your threat area, etc) are “at” a location. Clues are Yes. When you perform a standard evade action, you may only attempt to
only “at” a location if they are physically on that location (“Clues,” Rules evade enemies engaged with you. However, card effects (such as Stray Cat
Reference, page 7). or Cunning Distraction ( 78) may alter or supplant this limitation.
Is there any difference between “at a location” and “in a location?” When I attack using Shrivelling ( 60) and reveal a , , , , or symbol,
when do I take 1 horror?
No. Both terms have the same meaning and are used interchangeably.
You would take 1 horror immediately as you reveal the symbol, during “ST.3
If I play an event with a Fight ability, like Backstab ( 51), does it provoke
Reveal chaos token” (“Skill Test Timing,” Rules Reference, page 26). If you
attacks of opportunity?
had any reactions to taking that horror (such as Agnes Baker’s ability), you
No. Abilities with a bold action designator (like Fight, Evade or would trigger it then, before resolving the rest of the attack.
Investigate) count as an action of that type. In this case, since Backstab
If I automatically fail a test (from revealing a symbol, for example), I treat my
counts as a Fight action, no attacks of opportunity are made, because Fight
skill value as if it were 0. If the difficulty of the test is 0, does that mean I succeed?
actions do not provoke attacks of opportunity. The same goes for Fight
abilities on assets, like .45 Automatic ( 16). No. No matter what, if you automatically fail a test, you have failed the test,
regardless of how your skill value and the difficulty compare.
If I use an ability or play an event with a bold action type (like Fight, Evade,
or Investigate), do I need to spend one action to use the ability and another How does “searching the collection” for a random basic weakness work? Do I
action to initiate the action listed? Or just one action? use the same pool of weaknesses I used during deck construction? Or do I search
through all of my weaknesses?
Paying the cost of the ability is enough to initiate the action designated.
There is no need to spend an additional action. Anytime players are instructed to search for a random basic weakness—
be it during deck construction, during a scenario’s setup or resolution,
Can I trigger the abilities on two copies of .45 Automatic ( 16) for +2
or during a scenario itself—players should use the same pool of
and +2 damage?
weaknesses, which is constructed using all of the basic weaknesses from
No. Each ability is a separate action that must be resolved in full before only 1 copy of each product they own. If each investigator has their own
you have the opportunity to take another action. collection of cards, they should each use their own pool of weaknesses
Can I trigger the ability on cards like Physical Training ( 17) more constructed in the same manner, so as to avoid players’ cards getting mixed
than once per skill test? together accidentally.
Yes. Unless the ability has a printed limitation on it, you may use it as often For example: Damon and Kelsy have each constructed decks using
as you like, provided you are able to pay the ability’s cost each time. Damon’s collection, which consists of 2 copies of the Core Set. During deck
construction, they each included 1 random basic weakness from a pool of
If there are clues or cards at an unrevealed location, and then that location is weaknesses consisting of only the 10 weaknesses in a single copy of the Core
revealed, what happens to those clues/cards? Set. This leaves a pool of 8 weaknesses remaining. If they are later instructed
Any clues or cards at an unrevealed location remain where they are when to each search the collection for a random basic weakness, these weaknesses
the location is revealed. This includes clues physically placed on the would be taken from that remaining pool of 8 weaknesses.
location, enemies or assets at that location, and cards attached to that I have committed Double or Nothing ( 26) and Perception ( 90) to a skill
location. Clues that are placed on the newly revealed location from its clue test during an investigation, and I also have Dr. Milan Christopher ( 33) in
value are simply added to the clues that were already on that location when play. If I succeed, which effects are resolved twice?
it was revealed.
The effects of a successful skill test are applied during step 7, and Double
If a card effect says to heal damage or horror but does not indicate from where, or Nothing causes each of these affects to be resolved twice. Dr. Milan
can I use it to heal assets or investigators other than myself? Christopher’s ability is a reaction to succeeding at a skill test, and therefore
No. “Heal X damage/horror” is shorthand for “Heal X damage/horror is triggered and resolved during step 6, after success is determined. During
from your investigator.” If a card simply reads “Heal X horror” or “Heal step 7, the game result of the investigation (discovering 1 clue), and the “if
X damage,” you can only use it to heal horror or damage from your this test is successful” result of Perception are both resolved twice due to
investigator. Cards that allow you to heal other investigators or assets will Double or Nothing’s effect.
specify that.
11
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Can Terror from Beyond ( 101) cause weaknesses to be discarded from an However, if a deck was searched and/or shuffled, there’s no way of knowing
investigator’s hand? the exact order of the cards as they were beforehand, so keeping the deck
shuffled is fine. You still don’t know the order of the cards in the deck, so the
Terror from Beyond can cause weaknesses to be discarded, even if you are
game state is effectively the same. For example, let’s say you used No Stone
the one making the choice. Terror from Beyond instructs an investigator
Unturned ( 26) to search your deck for a card, draw it, and shuffle your
to choose a card type, and then all investigators are obligated to discard all
deck. In this case, if an investigator played Time Warp, it is fine to simply
cards of the chosen card type. In this case, you aren’t optionally choosing
shuffle the card you searched for back into your deck. As far as the game
to discard 1 or more cards; you are selecting a category of cards to be
state is concerned, your deck is in the same state it was before No Stone
discarded, and the discard is mandatory.
Unturned was played.
Can I play Ward of Protection (level 5) ( 307) to cancel and discard an
What happens if a skill test both automatically succeeds and automatically
enemy on the reverse side of an act or agenda? And if so, where does it go?
fails simultaneously?
You cannot. When you flip to the b-side of an act or agenda and it is an
If a skill test both automatically succeeds and automatically fails, the
encounter cardtype (typically a treachery, enemy or location), you should
automatic failure takes precedence, and the test automatically fails.
follow the rules for drawing that encounter card solely for the purposes
of figuring out how that card enters play and for resolving any appropriate If I purchase a permanent card for my deck, like Charon’s Obol ( 308), can I
revelation effects. You should not be able to trigger effects based on having later remove it from my deck?
“drawn” that card, as it was not actually drawn, and it is not clear who is Not unless an effect explicitly allows you to do so. Generally cards are only
doing the drawing in such an event. removed from your deck if you purchase a new card and must swap out
If I use Duke ( 14) to move into a location that causes my turn to an existing card in order to reach your investigator’s deck size. However,
“immediately end” in the middle of resolving Duke’s ability, does the ability since Permanent cards do not count towards your deck size, they cannot be
continue resolving? swapped out in this way. There is no rule which allows you to remove cards
from your deck at will.
Yes. If during the resolution of an ability, your turn ends (“immediately”
or otherwise), you will still resolve the remainder of that ability. The rest of If I use the ability on Archaic Glyphs (Prophecy Foretold) ( 193) to
that ability is not canceled. Note, however, that any “until the end of your “automatically evade an engaged enemy,” does that mean an enemy engaged with
turn” effects would still expire at this time, since your turn has ended, but me, or an enemy engaged with any investigator?
you’ll still continue to play out the remainder of Duke’s ability. By default, an “engaged enemy” is an enemy currently engaged with you. If a
What consistitutes a “skill test on a Spell card” for the purposes of cards like card allows you to interact with any enemy engaged with an investigator, it will
Spirit Athame ( 35) and Grounded ( 113)? specify that.
A “skill test on a card” is any ability that directly prompts a skill test, either If I am playing as Carolyn Fern ( 1) and succeed on the skill test for Liquid
through the template “test skill (X),” or by initiating an action that is, in Courage ( 24), can I trigger Carolyn’s ability twice, or only once?
itself, a skill test (for example, any card with Fight, Evade, or Investigate Only once. The word “additional” in the second healing effect denotes that
action designators). the two points of healing should be lumped together into one healing effect,
Can a location with no valid path to my location be the “nearest” or “ farthest” not treated as two separate instances of 1 healing each.
location from my location?
Yes, but only if there are no other eligible locations with a vaild path to your
location. If there are other locations with a valid path to your location, the
nearest or farthest of those must qualify as the “nearest” or “farthest” to
your location.
If an enemy is in a location with no valid path to your location, can it still be the
“nearest” enemy purposes of cards like Mysterious Chanting ( 171) or Dance
of the Yellow King ( 97)?
Even if it has no valid path to an investigator, an enemy can still qualify as
the “nearest” enemy if there are no other enemies in play that are nearer.
That said, an effect that require an enemy to track a path to an investigator
(such as Dance of the Yellow King) would not cause an enemy to move if
there is no valid path.
How does Time Warp ( 311) interact with cards being returned to decks?
To the extent that cards can be returned to the same state they were in
before, they should be. For example, if you used Scrying ( 61) to reorder
the top 3 cards of the encounter deck, and then an investigator played Time
Warp, you should go back and reorder those 3 cards to their original order.
Likewise, if you drew 1 card and then played Time Warp, the card you drew
should be returned to the top of your deck. If you are unable to return the
game state to exactly the way it was before the action was performed, the
effect fails.
12
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Can I use two cards that replace 1 revealed chaos token with multiple tokens, like Can I use “Let me handle this!” ( 22) or “You handle this one!” ( 28) on
Olive McBride ( 197) and Grotesque Statue ( 71), on the same skill test? a weakness?
Yes, you can. When you use multiple effects that replace “revealing a chaos No. Both of these cards are played after you or another investigator
token” with something, else, you must first declare your intention so you draw a non-peril encounter card, but before resolving that card’s effects.
are reacting to what you draw from the bag, because each of these effects are Weaknesses with an encounter cardtype (such as enemies or treacheries)
meant to be triggered before you draw tokens from the bag. are considered to be encounter cards while they are being resolved and once
If you declare you’re going to trigger Olive’s ability first, you should then they have entered play, but are not considered to be encounter cards yet at
declare which of the 3 tokens you’re about to reveal from Olive’s ability will the time that these cards are played. Therefore, at the time these cards would
be turned into 2 tokens from the statue (For example, “I’m going to reveal be played, they are still player cards and are not legal targets.
3 tokens using Olive, and for the first token, I’m going to reveal 2 instead of Do enemies exhaust after making attacks of opportunity, retaliate attacks, or
1 using my statue). Then you’ll ignore one of the 2 statue tokens, and be left other attacks (via card effects)?
with 3 total tokens, which you’ll then ignore 1 of. (All of these tokens are
No. Enemies only exhaust after attacking if they perform an attack during
considered to be revealed simultaneously, so you are not allowed to reveal the
step 3.3 of the enemy phase. Unless otherwise noted, all other enemy attacks
first 2 tokens with Olive, and then decide whether or not to use the statue).
do not cause that enemy to exhaust.
If you instead trigger the statue’s ability first, you would do the same thing,
If an ability refers to “your cards,” is it referring to cards you control, or cards you
declaring your intent. (For example, “I’m going to reveal 2 tokens using my
own? For example, does the ability on Carolyn Fern ( 1) only work if a card I
statue, but for the second token, I’m going to use Olive’s ability to reveal 3
control heals horror, or does it work if a card I own but do not control heals horror?
instead of 1”.) Then you would choose between resolving the first token or the
3 Olive tokens. (Here this may seem a little strange, because Grotesque Statue In general, “your cards” are the cards you currently control. If you own a
says “Choose 1 of those tokens to resolve, and ignore the other,” which implies card but do not control it, it is not “yours” for the purposes of abilities.
that you only get to resolve 1 token and ignore 1 token, but for the purposes Can I use the ability on Track Shoes ( 36) after moving to a location with
of resolving these types of effects, the 3 tokens revealed from Olive’s ability no enemies?
should be treated as 1 revealed token.) If you decide to resolve the 3 Olive
tokens you would then choose 2 to resolve and resolve the other, as usual. Yes. The “before enemies engage you” part of the ability is just referring to
the timing point at which enemies would engage you; it is not specifying that
When I swap Dark Pact ( 38) out of my deck for The Price of Failure ( 39), there must be an enemy there in order to trigger the ability.
does Dark Pact return to the pool of available basic weaknesses?
Does Patrice Hathaway’s ( 5) card draw during the upkeep phase occur all at
Dark Pact is returned to your collection, but should not be returned to the once, or one at a time? What happens if I draw a weakness, like Amnesia ( 96)?
pool of available weaknesses when it is swapped out — this ensures that you
can always swap between Dark Pact and The Price of Failure without it being Anytime you draw one or more cards, the card draw occurs simultaneously
unavailable later. Same goes for Doomed ( 40) if it is swapped out. unless the effect uses the phrase “one at a time.” Then, once all of the cards
have been drawn, you must resolve all Revelation abilities on those cards
Does the ability on Ursula Down ( 2) allow me to take an investigate action (in an order of your choosing).
on an asset or event card?
Can Patrice Hathaway’s ( 5) ability cause her to discard hidden encounter
Yes. Ursula’s reaction allows you to take any investigate action, including cards from her hand?
those performed via the activate action or via the play action.
No. Hidden cards cannot be discarded from hand by any means except for
Does the investigate action taken via the ability on Ursula Down ( 2) provoke those described on the card.
attacks of opportunity?
If a card has 0 cost or no cost, is its cost even or odd?
Yes. If an ability allows you to “take an action,” it is as though you are
gaining an action and immediately spending it to perform that action. This Zero is an even number, so cards with 0 cost have an even cost.
is different from reaction or free triggered abilities that simply perform the Skill cards and cards with a “–” cost do not have a cost at all, so their cost is
effects of an action directly, such as the reaction on Survival Knife ( 17). neither even nor odd.
13
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Can tokens (like Tony Morgan’s bounties) be placed on swarm cards? If a card such as Cheap Shot ( 23) is returned to my hand, what areas am I allowed to
Yes. Each swarm card counts as a separate copy of its host card and retrieve it from? If it is shuffled into my deck, can I still return it to my hand?
can have its own tokens on it. In general, unless otherwise specified, players can “return” such a card from any
For Mandy Thompson’s ( 2) reaction, what does it mean to “resolve play area, so long as it is in an area that allows the card to be found and identified.
1 additional target of the search?” For example, if Cheap Shot is in the discard pile or attached to another card (such
as a Crystallizer of Dreams ( 24) and you are able to find it, you may return it to
Search effects typically instruct you to resolve an effect using the your hand from that area. However, if it is in a place where its position is impossible to
card(s) targeted by the search. For example, if you used an effect to determine (such as shuffled into your deck) or facedown in a place where you are not
“search the top 3 cards of your deck for a card and draw it,” drawing allowed to look at its other side (for example, as a swarm card), you would be unable
the searched-for card would be resolving the target of the search. If to return it to your hand, and therefore that aspect of the effect would fail.
you used Mandy’s reaction here, you could either search the top 6
cards of your deck for a card and draw it, or search the top 3 cards of Additionally, if Cheap Shot is removed from the game, unless specifically stated
your deck for 2 cards and draw them both. (You must decide which otherwise, no game effects can interact with it in any way until the end of the game.
before initiating the search.)
Can I play a card with a cost of “–”?
No. Cards with a cost of “–” have no cost that can be paid, and
therefore cannot be played. For example, if Pendant of the Queen (
22) is discarded from play and then shuffled back into your deck
and drawn, you would be unable to play it from hand. (Cards that
put it directly into play bypassing its cost would be able to put it into
play, however.)
Cards with a cost of “–” that are played as a copy of a different card,
such as Eidetic Memory ( 306), use the resource cost of the
copied card, and therefore bypass this restriction.
Do and tokens have a modifier or value if they are revealed outside
of a skill test?
No. and tokens revealed outside of a skill test have no modifier
or value.
If adding a certain number of or tokens to the chaos bag is part of
an ability’s effect, and there are not enough or tokens remaining to
fulfill that effect, what happens?
You perform as much of the ability as you can, adding or
tokens until there are none left to add.
If adding a certain number of or tokens to the chaos bag is part of
a card/ability’s cost, and there are not enough or tokens remaining
to fulfill that cost, what happens?
If the cost cannot be paid, the card/ability therefore cannot be
played/triggered.
What happens if the card beneath Amanda Sharpe would enter a
different play area while it is committed to a skill test?
It still enters that play area—it only remains beneath Amanda if it
would otherwise be discarded (such as at the end of the skill test).
14
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
During a campaign, do and tokens remain in the chaos bag from scenario What happens if Duke is listed under “Sacrficed to Yog-Sothoth?” Is “Ashcan”
to scenario? Pete still playable without Duke?
No, and tokens do not carry over from scenario to scenario. If a required card (such as Duke) is permanently removed from your deck, it
If I use Grisly Totem ( 119) after committing the card beneath Amanda also removes the requirement of including that card. If for whatever reason
Sharpe ( 2), how long does its bonus icon stay for? Duke cannot be included in “Ashcan” Pete’s deck, that requirement is
considered to be removed, and Pete may continue without Duke.
The bonus icon granted by Grisly Totem does not specify a duration, so this
effect should remain until the committed card leaves play. The real question Of course, since this is a significant handicap, you may also choose to
is: when does the committed card enter or leave play? optionally retire Pete and continue using a new investigator at 0 experience.
Generally speaking, cards placed beneath other cards (such as the card
beneath Amanda Sharpe) are out of play. Cards committed to tests never The Unspeakable Oath
really “enter play,” but while they are committed to a test, their icons are The following questions contain light spoilers for “The Unspeakable Oath.”
added to the investigator’s relevant skill and their text is active. So, while
the card beneath Amanda is committed to a test, its icons and text should be Is the setup instruction regarding which version of Act 2—“The Really Bad
alterable by game effects (as if you had committed it from your hand), just Ones” the investigators should use correct? Am I supposed to be able to trigger
like any other in-play card. But as soon as that test ends, it returns to its out- the parley ability on Daniel Chesterfield (…Or At Least, What’s Left of Him)?
of-play state, and any lasting effects would drop. Yes, it is correct, and no, there is no way to trigger it (in this reality).
TL;DR: The bonus icon granted by Grisly Totem would only apply for the
test during which Grisly Totem is used, after which the card returns to its The Forgotten Age
out-of-play state, and the bonus icon would drop.
The following questions contain light spoilers for scenarios in The Forgotten
If a swarming enemy engages Zoey Samaras, can she trigger her ability once
Age campaign.
for each enemy in total, or only once for the entire swarm?
What happens if I perform an explore action and I cycle through the entire
Although swarming enemies move and engage together as a single entity,
exploration deck without finding either a treachery card or a location specified by
each swarm card is its own separate enemy. If a swarming enemy engages
the explore ability?
Zoey, each of its swarm cards are also enemies that have engaged Zoey.
Therefore, she may trigger her ability once for each of them. In such a case, the exploration simply ends. It is neither successful nor
Can I look at facedown cards beneath or attached to other cards I control? If I unsuccessful. All locations drawn during the exploration should be shuffled
use the ability on Ancestral Knowledge ( 2) to draw one of the cards back into the exploration deck, and the investigator’s action ends.
attached to it, am I allowed to know what each card is, or is it random? If I am instructed to replay a scenario, do any effects from a previous resolution
Unless an effect states otherwise, investigators are allowed to look at the or interlude that refer to “the next scenario” apply? What about effects from the
other sides of facedown cards beneath or attached to cards they control, introduction that refer to “this scenario?”
such as Ancestral Knowledge, Backpack ( 37), and Diana Stanley ( 4). Yes to both. If the previous resolution or interlude affects “the next
If you are given the ability to draw, play, or interact with one of those cards, scenario,” or if the scenario introduction affects “this scenario,” it should
you may look at them to know which one you wish to draw or play. be construed to mean any playthrough of that scenario, including multiple
This is not true for facedown cards that are attached to encounter cards or playthroughs if the players are forced to replay it.
placed facedown via a scenario effect, such as swarm cards, empty space, If a resolution or interlude contains effects that refer to “the next scenario,” will
or tomes beneath locations in the challenge scenario Read or Die. In these apply to a side-story?
these instances, players cannot look at the other side of those cards unless
No; these effects refer only to the next scenario in the natural order of the
instructed otherwise.
campaign (for example, Scenario II: “The Doom of Eztli” after playing
Scenario I: “The Untamed Wilds”). Additionally, for the purposes of these
Blood on the Altar effects, Scenarios V–A and V–B are two separate scenarios.
The following questions contain light spoilers for “Blood on the Altar.” Does Charon’s Obol ( 308) trigger its effects if a resolution instructs me to
Is the “pile of potential sacrifices”in play or out of play? Are they under any player’s replay a scenario? What about in between Scenarios V–A and V–B?
control? What about cards that have been placed underneath the agenda deck? Charon’s Obol’s effects occur “When earning experience during the
The “pile of potential sacrifices” (and cards underneath the agenda deck) resolution of a scenario…” Therefore, Charon’s Obol will not trigger when
should be considered to be in play for the purposes of game rules, but these you are instructed to replay a scenario, because such resolutions state that
cards are under no player’s control. (Since the cards are facedown, you should “No experience points are earned from your previous game.”
try to remember which unique allies were kidnapped and added to the pile of However, in between Scenarios V–A and V–B, experience is earned, so
potential sacrifices without having to look at it.) Additionally, the cards in the Charon’s Obol will indeed trigger, even though players are not allowed to
pile of potential sacrifices and underneath the agenda deck cannot be affected spend those experience points until after they have played Scenario V–B.
by player card effects or investigator actions.
Thus, if a unique asset is Kidnapped! ( 220), an investigator cannot play
another copy of that asset. Additionally, if a player resigns or is defeated, any
cards he or she owns that are in the pile of potential sacrifices or facedown
underneath the agenda deck will remain as such.
15
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
The Wages of Sin
The following questions contain light spoilers for “The Wages of Sin.”
When a location flips from its non-Spectral side to its Spectral side (or vice
versa), what happens to tokens, attachments, or other cards at that location?
When such a location flips from one side to its other side, the location does
not leave play. Therefore, all tokens that were on that location remain on its
new side, all attachments remain attached, and all enemies, investigators
and assets that were at that location remain as well.
Do Unfinished Business cards in an investigator’s threat area count as Heretics
in play for the purposes of this scenario’s resolution? (i.e. how many heretics were
unleashed unto Arkham?)
No. Only Heretics with the Heretic side faceup count. (However, note that
Unfinished Business cards in an investigator’s threat area will not count
their victory points, either, as normal.)
16
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
The List of Taboos Mutated
Cards from this list have additional or altered text, as described below.
The List of Taboos is a list of Arkham Horror: The Card Game cards with
optional deckbuilding restrictions or text changes. This list is designed to Æ Dr. Milan Christopher ( 33): This card’s ability now reads:
craft a healthy balance between investigator power and scenario difficulty, “After you successfully investigate, exhaust Dr. Milan Christopher…”
and to enforce shifts in deckbuilding environments over time. Æ Elusive ( 50): This card now reads: “Disengage from each enemy
Adhering to The List of Taboos is completely optional. Investigators are not engaged with you and move to a connecting location with no enemies.”
forced to adhere to the restrictions on this list, but if an investigator chooses Æ Rex Murphy ( 2): This card’s ability gains: “(Limit once
to do so, they must do so in full (an investigator cannot pick and choose per round.)”
which restrictions to use).
Æ Delve Too Deep ( 111): This card gains: “Group limit 2 copies of
Chained / Unchained Delve Too Deep in the victory display.”
Æ Springfield M1903 ( 226): This card’s ability gains: “This attack
Cards from this list have their experience cost increased or decreased by the may target a non‑Elite enemy up to one location away from its standard
amount listed below. Each card’s level remains the same—only the experience range, ignoring the aloof and retaliate keywords.”
spent to purchase the card is altered. This experience adjustment should also be
taken into account when upgrading to or from a card that is on this list.
Æ Quick Thinking ( 229): At the end of its ability, this card gains: “(max
once per round).”
Æ Machete ( 20): +1 experience
Æ Ace in the Hole ( 266): This card gains: “Max once per round.”
Æ Pathfinder ( 108): +2 experience
Æ Sleight of Hand ( 29): This card’s ability now reads: “Put a level 0–3
Æ Switchblade (level 2) ( 152): +1 experience Item asset into play from your hand.”
Æ Higher Education ( 187): +3 experience Æ Key of Ys ( 315): This card gains the exceptional keyword.
Æ Streetwise ( 189): +3 experience Æ All In ( 309): At the end of its ability, this card gains: “Remove All In
Æ Scrapper ( 193): +1 experience from the game.”
Æ Flamethrower ( 305): +1 experience Æ Scroll of Secrets (all three versions) ( 116, 188, 189): These cards’
abilities are now abilities.
Æ Drawing Thin ( 26): +3 experience
Æ Telescopic Sight ( 230): This card loses the text: “Attached asset
Æ Mr. “Rook” ( 153): +4 experience cannot be used to attack enemies engaged with you.”
Æ Knowledge is Power ( 231): +2 experience Æ Eucatastrophe ( 324): This card’s ability gains: “Remove
Æ The Necronomicon (Petrus de Dacia Translation) ( 33): +3 experience Eucatastrophe from the game.”
Æ Pendant of the Queen ( 22): This card’s constant ability now reads:
“If this card has no charges, remove it from the game.”
Æ .35 Winchester ( 195): This card’s ability now reads: “ Spend
1 ammo: Fight. You get +2 for this attack. If a chaos token with a
non-negative modifier is revealed during this attack, this attack deals
+2 damage.”
Æ Three Aces ( 199): This card’s ability gains: “Remove each
committed copy of Three Aces from the game.”
Æ A Watchful Peace ( 269): This card’s ability gains: “Remove A
Watchful Peace from the game.”
Æ Hallow ( 301): This card’s ability gains: “Remove Hallow from
the game.”
Forbidden
Cards from this list cannot be included in your deck.
Æ Double or Nothing ( 26).
17
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Quick Reference Campaign Icons
This section lists each campaign along with their associated icon so players
This section provides standard play information in an abbreviated, quick-
can tell, at a glance, what campaign a particular card is from.
reference format that can be helpful in clarifying some common situations
in the game. Core Set (Night of the Zealot)
Return to the Night of the Zealot
Spawning an Enemy The Dunwich Legacy
1. If an enemy is being spawned without an investigator drawing it, the Return to the Dunwich Legacy
effect spawning the enemy will typically indicate where that enemy
The Path to Carcosa
should spawn. After spawning the enemy at that location, it will
automatically engage investigators at its location using the rules for Return to the Path to Carcosa
Enemy Engagement (Rules Reference, page 10), unless it is aloof. The Forgotten Age
2. If an investigator draws an enemy, check to see if the enemy has a Return to the Forgotten Age
“Spawn –” instruction.
The Circle Undone
= If the enemy has a “Spawn –” instruction, the enemy spawns at the
indicated location. After spawning the enemy at that location, it will The Dream-Eaters
automatically engage investigators at its location using the rules for The Innsmouth Conspiracy
Enemy Engagement (Rules Reference, page 10), unless it is aloof.
= If the enemy does not have a “Spawn –” instruction, the investigator Standalone Product Icons
drawing the enemy spawns it engaged with him/her, unless it is aloof.
This section lists each standalone product along with their associated icon
“Prey –” instructions have no direct impact on which location an so players can tell, at a glance, what product a particular card is from.
enemy will spawn at. The only time “Prey –” instructions will impact
this process is when an enemy spawns unengaged at a location with Curse of the Rougarou
multiple investigators, and you use the rules for Enemy Engagement Carnevale of Horrors
(Rules Reference, page 10) to determine which investigator it should
Labyrinths of Lunacy
automatically engage.
Guardians of the Abyss
The Blob That Ate Everything
Chaos Token Names Murder at the Excelsior Hotel
18
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS