The 6 Marketing Metrics: Used by Marketing Superstars
The 6 Marketing Metrics: Used by Marketing Superstars
The 6 Marketing Metrics: Used by Marketing Superstars
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The 6
Marketing
Metrics
used by
marketing
superstars
THE 6 MARKETING METRICS USED BY MARKETING SUPERSTARS
Introduction
As marketers, we work tirelessly to move the believe that marketers are focused enough on
needle on what often seems like a laundry list results to truly drive incremental customer de-
of metrics. We look at website visits, conversion mand.
rates, generated leads per channel, engagement
on social media platforms, blog post shares, When it comes to marketing metrics that matter
email click-through rates... and the list goes on. to your execs, expect to report on data that deals
When the time comes to present the impact of with the total cost of marketing, salaries, over-
your marketing efforts, you can’t present him or head, revenue, and customer acquisitions. This
her with everything you measure. guide will walk you through the six critical mar-
keting metrics your boss actually wants to know.
While many bosses theoretically understand that
a solid marketing team can directly impact your
company’s bottom line, 73% of executives don’t Let’s get started.
THE 6 MARKETING METRICS USED BY MARKETING SUPERSTARS
Acquisitions
1. Your sales team could have underperformed (and consequently re-
ceived) lower commissions and/or bonuses.
2. Your marketing team is spending too much or has too much overhead.
Cost
3. You are in an investment phase, spending more on marketing to provide
more high quality leads and improve your sales productivity.
Ratio of Customer The higher the LTV:CAC, the more ROI your sales
and marketing team is delivering to your bottom
Lifetime Value to line. However, you don’t want this ratio to be too
high, as you should always be investing in reach-
How to Calculate It
You calculate the Time to Payback CAC = $10,000
CAC by taking your CAC and dividing
by your margin-adjusted revenue
per month for your average new Time $10,000 ÷ $1,000 = 10 Months
customer. CAC
THE 6 MARKETING METRICS USED BY MARKETING SUPERSTARS
Conclusion
As marketers, we track so many different data metrics detailed in this cheat sheet to report on
points to better understand what’s working and how your marketing program led to new custom-
what’s not that it can become easy to lose sight ers, lower customer acquisition costs, or higher
of what’s most important. Reporting on your busi- customer lifetime values. When you can present
ness impact doesn’t mean you should no longer marketing metrics that resonate with your deci-
pay attention to site traffic, social shares, and sion-makers, you’ll be in a much better position
conversion rates. It simply means that when re- to make the case for budgets and strategies that
porting your results to your executives, it’s crucial will benefit your marketing team now and in the
to convey your performance in a way that your future.
C-suite can get excited about.
About Wings4U
Our sweet spot as a B2B marketing agency is To further aid our clients we have extended our
content creation. We understand the magic services to inbound marketing. This ensures your
behind quality content, and we deliver to budget, content is seen, leads are being generated 24/7
on time, in formats that drive results. and your prospects are nurtured until they become
customers.