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DIGITAL MARKETING NOTES

Session 1: Introduction to Digital Marketing

Digital Marketing - The use of electronic devises and internet to promote products and services. It
has an ability to garner larger and target audiences at lower costs. Analytics can be used to gain
insights and determine the effectiveness of campaigns.
Readings: The most successful Brands focus on users not buyers
➢ Position the brand in the LIVES of the customer.
➢ Engage customers as USERS not as BUYERS.
➢ Focus on POST PURCHASE RENEWAL & ADVOCACY of the brand
➢ BRAND TWINS: A pair of newcomers (makes life easier) and legacy (People look up to)
brands that compete in the same industry.

PURCHASE BRANDS USAGE BRANDS
Create demand for BUYING the product Create demand for USING the product
These brands focus on PROMOTION These brands focus on ADVOCACY
Before Transaction After Transaction
What they say to customers What Customers say to each other
Focus on lead generation Focus on Loyalty

Readings: Product Innovation


➢ The power of online experiments and product innovation
➢ Building a culture of innovation in company
➢ Usage of metrics and approaches that reflect the value of different customer segment.
➢ Focus on data driven approaches and long-term experiments.
Session 2: Understanding Marketing Objectives & Client Goals

Inbound Marketing – Attracting consumers by providing them relevant content customized to their
interests. (Content within Context)
Buyer Journey– It is a research process that the buyer goes through before actual purchasing. It
consists of three stages 1) Awareness – Researching about your need 2) Consideration –
Discovering options 3) Decision- Comparing vendors. E.g.: Blogs, white papers.
Components of Digital Marketing
SEO on a Video
- Put keywords in Title & description (On page SEO)
- Comments, Likes, Subscriptions of your video (Off page SEO)
- Thumbnail of your video
- Tags
SEO on an Image
- ALT Text in description of the image.
Banner / Display Campaigns
The primary objective is Brand Awareness.
Readings: Branding in the era of social media
➢ Social media has made brands less significant as the rise of social media made people opt
out of ads.
➢ Brands succeed only when they break through CULTURE.
➢ Branding is a set of techniques designed to generate cultural relevance.
➢ Social networks have changed how culture works.
➢ Crowds serve as very effective innovators of culture- CROWDCULTURE.
➢ By targeting novel ideologies from crowd cultures brands can stand out.
Session 3: Search Engine Marketing

Readings: An Empirical Analysis of Search Engine Advertising


➢ Model the relationship between different sponsored search metrics such as click-through
rates, conversion rates, cost per click, and ranking of advertisements.

➢ Quantify the relationship between various keyword characteristics, position of the


advertisement, and the landing page quality score on consumer search and purchase
behavior as well as on advertiser’s cost per click and the search engine’s ranking decision.

➢ Increase in landing page quality scores is associated with an increase in conversion rates
and a decrease in advertiser’s cost per click.

➢ The specific “keywords” in response to which the ads are displayed are often chosen based
on user-generated content in online product reviews, social networks, and blogs where
users have posted their opinions about firms’ products.

➢ Online world has enabled a shift from “mass” advertising to more “targeted” advertising.

➢ The match between a user query and the advertisement could be based on a broad, exact,
or phrase match. The ad typically consists of headline, a word or a limited number of words
describing the product or service.

➢ The match between a user query and the advertisement could be based on a broad, exact,
or phrase match. The ad typically consists of headline, a word or a limited number of words
describing the product or service.

➢ CLICK: If the consumer clicks on the ad, he is led to the landing page of the advertiser’s
website. This is recorded as a click, and advertisers usually pay on a per click basis.

➢ CONVERSION: In the event that the consumer ends up purchasing a product from the
advertiser, this is recorded as a Conversion

Click-Through Rate = (clicks/impressions)

Conversion Rate= (conversions/clicks)


Readings: From generic to Branded Model
➢ Generic keywords have higher apparent costs to the advertiser than branded keywords.

➢ Spillover effect from generic to branded keywords means generic search can create
awareness that the brand is relevant to the goals of the search and consequently.

➢ Branded keywords will have a lower cost per click than generic keywords.

➢ Generic search that makes the user aware that the brand offers a potential solution relevant
to the user’s goals. This is how we distinguish between awareness and awareness of
relevance.

Readings: Consumer Heterogeneity & Paid Search Effectiveness

➢ Search clicks and purchase behavior are correlated.


➢ New and infrequent users are positively influenced by ads.
➢ More frequent users whose purchasing behavior is not influenced by ads account for most of
the advertising expenses.

Measurement
• CPM – Cost per Thousand Impressions
• CPC – Cost per Click
• CPL – Cost Per Lead
• CPA – Cost per Acquisition
Eg: Cost = 100 Rs
Impressions = 1000, Click =40, Lead = 20, Purchase =2
CPM= 100
CPC = 100/40=2.5
CPL =100/20=5
CPA= 100/2=50
Google Ad Words
• 80% people search on it.
• Flexible
• Faster than SEO
• Easy to use.
• Targeted and gives better conversion rate.
How Does Google Calculate your Ad Rank?
Beside the bid value, quality score of each individual has weightage to formulate the final Ad Rank.
Usually, highest bidder gets the top position and so on but here quality score plays an important
role too. Here, finally with 80 Ad Rank score My ad will run on top than the others.

To calculate the actual CPC, Ad rank of the competitor below you and your quality score will be
divided.
By Increasing the Quality Score you Decrease the price you pay.

Types of Keywords
➢ Broad match keywords will give you the widest reach, but the least relevance.

➢ The Broad Match Modifier keyword +bike +shop to your account it will only match to search
terms that contain both the word bike and the word shop, or close variants of bike and
shop.

➢ Phrase match keyword can be used by putting it in quotes. It must contain all the words (or
close variants) in the keyword in the same order without any words in between. The phrase
match keyword “bike shop” would only match to keywords that have the words bike shop
right next to each other, without any terms in between.

➢ Exact match keywords provide the lowest reach but highest relevance. Only search terms
that exactly match the keywords will trigger your ad. This means all the words are present, in
the same order, without any words before, after, or in between.
Session 4: Search Engine Optimization

Readings: Inbound & Outbound Marketing


How Does Google Search Work?
• Google searches are not real time.
• A spider program collects information from the websites.
• Search index is a database of information used for doing a search.
On- Page SEO
Off- Page SEO
What others talk about you.
• A short tail keyword is a phrase that contains 3 words or less. Examples include: “athletic
apparel,” “DVD player,” or “engagement ring.”
• Long tail words are phrases containing more than 3 words.
• Which type of keyword you want to use for your marketing is going to depend very much on
the type of traffic that you want to drive to your site.
WHERE TO PUT KEYWORDS ?
Off Page SEO
• Blogging
• Article Submission
• Directory Submission
• Social Bookmarking
• Q/NA
• SEOptimer to check SEO performance of your websites.
Session 5: Social Media Marketing

Readings: When, Why & How much to entertain consumers?


➢ Positive entertainment is more attractive & persuasive.
➢ But too much positive entertainment can have detrimental affects for companies as
companies may just would spend too much time entertaining consumers.
➢ Defining Pre-Brand associated entertainment which precedes Post Brand associated
entertainment.
➢ Focus on positive entertainment that induces instant positive reactions.
➢ Entertainment evoked after the consumer sees the brand increases purchase intent, thus
creating a cooperating effect with brand persuasion.
Readings: Forget Viral Marketing Make the Product Viral Itself
Twitter Analytics – Twitonomy , foller.me , Tweet archivist
Session 7: Online Reputation Management

➢ What others see about you online.


Session 9: B2B Marketing
Session 10: Mobile Marketing

➢ Mobile Messaging
➢ QR code Generator
………………………………………………………………..

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