Digital Marketing: Search Engine Marketing Session No. I 1.0
Digital Marketing: Search Engine Marketing Session No. I 1.0
Session No. I
Version 1.0
Digital Marketing
Material from the published or unpublished work of others which is referred to in the Class
Notes is credited to the author in question in the text. The Class Notes prepared is of 9,296
words in length. Research ethics issues have been considered and handled appropriately
within the Globsyn Business School guidelines and procedures.
Table of Contents
1. Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) ....................................................................... 8
5.8.1. Overview..............................................................................................................20
11.3. Comparison between A/B Testing and Multivariate Testing Techniques ...... 37
References ................................................................................................................... 48
The advertisements are also known as pay-per-click ads and tend to be generated along
diverse formats like small ads, text-based ads, ads meant for product listing and finally the
product-based advertisements. The Product Listing Ads also identified as PLAs are identified to
be Shopping Ads and thereby are created for generation of a visual appeal. The Product-Based
Advertisements are such that help the consumers in gaining effective information associated to
price points and customer reviews in terms of just glancing at them (Chaney, 2017).
The practice associated with SEM gains needed significance in that it renders a potential
opportunity to the advertisers for generating the advertisements before prospective customers
at the perfect moment when they are focusing on carrying out relevant purchases. It thus gives
the advertisers greater accessibility in engaging and motivating the customers to try their hands
on product and services brands thus advertised (Moran & Hunt, 2014).
SEO SEM
SEO accounts to be free in that the SEM accounts to be Paid Search Marketing
business institutions are not required to pay based activity wherein the business
Google for generating clicks and also institutions focus on rendering payments to
considerable amount of web traffic. The Google for highlighting the ads along with
businesses rather earn the advantage of a the results of the keyword searches carried
free spot along the search results in terms out by the users.
of generating relevant contents for specific
keyword searches.
(Wordstream , 2019)
CPC is also attributed as the cost that is required to be paid for each of the different clicks that
is required to be made in terms of clicking on the PPC Ads along different platforms like Bing
Ads and Google AdWords.
Actual CPC Score is determined by different types of factors like Maximum number of Bids,
Quality Score of the ads and Ad Ranks. The same is illustrated below:
(WordStream , 2019)
Increase in the value of the CPC happens to affect the ROI (Return on Investment) associated
to the investment activities generated regarding putting up of advertisements.
The value of CPC tends to vary in association with different parameters like industry type,
business type and also the networks based on which advertising activities are carried out. It is
observed that industries featured with increased competition and also with high amount of
conversions essentially reflect higher Cost Per Clicks (WordStream , 2019).
The Benchmarks regarding Average CPC set by Google AdWords for 20 different industries is
reflected as follows:
(WordStream , 2019)
The Average CPC can be rightly lowered in terms of enhancing the Quality Score. The Quality
Score is generally influenced by different parameters underlined below:
(WordStream , 2019)
websites and blogs while also taking into account considerable numbers of factors that
contribute in the generation of highly relevant results associated with given sets of keywords
(Goulas, 2018).
Three different types of Internet Searches are carried out associated with SERPs. They are
identified as:
5.3.1. Educational
In cases where the users focus on searching for specific information associated to a given
subject or issue under question the search engines tend to understand that are needed to
acquire the needed category of information from different sources and thereby display the same
in the form of organic results or without the featuring of advertisements and also other types of
paid results. The above type of internet search is held to be of an informative nature.
5.3.2. Navigational
In cases, where the users focus on locating a specific website or product or service brand based
on engaging a set of keywords in the search engines, the latter would focus on generating an
admixture of both organic and paid results on the SERP that would ideally match the search
queries incorporated by the user bases.
5.3.3. Interchangeable
Interchangeable searches are mainly constituted by quantifiable amount of commercial intent
that help users in gaining information associated to different types of merchandises and
services for meeting of their procurement needs (Goulas, 2018).
Search Box
Search Box is identified as the first significant element that needs to be present for typing the
search engine queries by the different users. Google as a search engine helps users in gaining
access to quantifiable amount of information associated to web searches, images, videos,
maps, books, scholarly articles and likewise.
Total Pages
Total Pages reflect the total numbers of pages indexed on a specific search engine that ideally
match the query put forward by the users.
Organic Results
Organic Results are identified as such that are ideally located on the top corners of the result
pages and are essentially constituted by different web pages that ideally match the queries
presented by the users.
Paid Results
The Paid Results are usually located either at the top or at the right corner of the different types
of organic results and are mainly found to contain advertisement contents that can be either
image or text based in nature or also be a combination of text and images (Goulas, 2018).
(Arnold, 2007)
5.5. Impressions
Impressions are generated when a specific advertisement or other forms of digital media are
rendered on the screen of the user. It can also be identified as a single display of a specific ad
on an individual web page. The concept of Impressions is not oriented to any form of specific
action. Rather, Impressions are generated only to render a visual impact on the minds of the
viewers visualising the image on the web page or screen. The generation and visualisation of
Impressions however contributes in meeting the objectives associated with the spreading of
brand awareness for a specific product/service/company brand. The tracking of Impressions has
been made all the more quantitative regards to online or digital marketing than that in the case
of offline advertising. In an offline advertisement like generation of billboard ads it would be
indeed difficult to understand and evaluate the number of impressions that same would render
on the minds of the viewers and thereby cannot be tracked quantitatively by marketers and ad
makers. Regards, to online marketing, CPM or ‘Cost per Thousand Impressions’ stands as an
effective metric in that it focuses on estimating the cost involved in displaying an ad in around a
1000 times over the web. It is observed, that e-commerce businesses maintaining and running
based on affiliate networks considers the pricing structure associated to CPM as an effective
metric for evaluating the cost involved in carrying out a CPM Campaign (Big Commerce
Essentials , 2019).
Impressions associated to Pay-Per-Click that are measured against the number of actual
clicks rendered on an Ad.
The total number of times a meme tends to appear along different social media
platforms like Facebook and Twitter.
Total number of on-site views in terms of calls-to-action internally.
Accessing of graphic materials through the employment of third-party sites like that of
Pinterest and also Google Image Search (Big Commerce Essentials , 2019).
Impressions are generally identified along two different types like Served and Viewable.
counting the impressions. However, counting data based on information provided by the servers
tends to bear the same problem as in the case of billboard ads in that a much deeper analysis is
needed to be carried out for evaluating the degree of impressions that had been cast by such on
the viewer’s mind (Big Commerce Essentials , 2019).
Tracking of Viewable Impressions mainly generate two types of benefit underlined as follows:
Enhancement of accuracy and specificity associated with the information received by the
firm based on the total number of actual impressions.
Data retrieved based on the application of viewable impressions are highly actionable in
nature such that it generates greater room for improvement and thereby helping in the
delivery of quality contents (Big Commerce Essentials , 2019).
The application of GDN ideally contributes in helping the online companies find the right type of
target audiences. The targeting options associated to GDN ideally contribute in transmitting and
displaying the right type of information to the right category of stakeholders and at the right
moment ( Google, 2019).
5.7.2. Ad Quality
The quality of the ad is ideally determined by factors like Click-Through Rate (CTR), relevancy
of the ad and experience associated to the landing pages. The factors ideally contribute in
determining the quality of the ad generated and thereby contributes in attributing a
correspondent quality score against the ads.
Further, in that Google AdWords stands out to be an auction platform where the company
focusing on gaining a higher page rank for the ads aims in bidding higher amount for the same.
Again, three different ways can be incorporated for enhancing the ad ranks in addition to
generating greater number of clicks on the same.
Using of Ad Extensions that earn needed relevance such that the same would help in
generating greater CTR and other parameters.
Development of effective landing pages in terms of creating unique offers that earn
relevance to specific ads.
Improvement of the Quality Score based on the utilisation of relevant and specific
advertisement groups.
(WordStream, 2019)
correlate with lower levels of cost on a per conversion basis it thus helps in generating
increased amounts of ROI.
Stronger Quality Scores thus helps in lowering both the Cost Per Click and also the Cost
Per Conversion associated to the Ads (WordStream, 2019).
(WordStream, 2019)
The above figure ideally reflects that increase in the cost per conversions tend to affect
the Quality Score of the Ads.
Organisation of Keywords
The keywords can be effectively categorised under different groups that thereby earn
association to different types of advertisement campaigns.
6.1.1. Campaigns
Campaigns are considered to be the highest-level elements associated with a paid search
related account. Search engines like Bing AdWords tend to highlight a single campaign whereas
others may tend to work based on large numbers of such paid search type campaigns. In terms
of carrying out different types of campaigns the ‘campaign’ element thus tends to hold the top
most position in the AdWords Account.
6.1.2. Ad Group
Ad Group account to be the second important element associated with the development of the
PPC Campaigns. In terms of an example, the carrying out of a particular campaign based on a
holiday theme for capitalising on end-of-the-year shopping activities carried out on the online
platform can be essentially constituted based on the application of two different types of ad
groups like that of ‘winter clothing’ on one hand and ‘sporting equipment for winter’ on the other
(WordStream, 2019).
The Ad Groups are further sub-divided along other types of elements like that of Keywords, Ad
Text and finally the Landing Pages.
Keywords
The keywords are needed to be ideally selected and put to use which are found to be utterly
relevant with the two different ad groups reflected above.
Ad Text
The text of the advertisements is required to be written in a unique fashion in terms of keeping
in focus the expectations and information demands of the prospective customer groups. Herein,
effective set of keywords are required to be potentially selected for development of quality and
relevant Ad Texts that suit the objectives of the PPC Campaigns.
Landing Pages
The development of the Landing Pages is required to be carried out in such fashion as would
help in matching the concerned advertisements based on the incorporation of relevant keywords
and also the overall messaging structure (WordStream, 2019).
(WordStream, 2019)
The structure of the AdWords Account is reflected in a hierarchal format where the AdWords
Account is constituted by two separate Ad Campaigns. Further, each of the different Ad
Campaigns is further broken along two separate Ad Groups. Finally, each of the different Ad
Groups are further distributed in terms of Keywords, Ad Texts and finally Landing Pages.
Continual Optimisation of the Pay Per Click or PPC Campaigns ideally contributes in enhancing
the level of the customer base and also in augmenting the degree of ROI. The same is
illustrated in the following figure:
(WordStream , 2019)
In addition to the above the inclusion of a ‘Call to Action’ (CTA) button further enhances the
quality of the ads. Examples of well optimised ads reflected on search engines like Google and
Bing are generated as follows:
(Chaney, 2017)
(Chaney, 2017)
The prominence associated to the links of the PPC Ads ideally helps in determining the
amount the ads is tending to generate.
The process of bidding sometimes ought to become bias in that the same tends to
favour the online businesses that are tending to generate increased bids.
Online firms focusing on marketing a specific product or service that is increasingly
associated with the different search terms tend to observe that generation of bids of
higher amounts does not stand to be an effective tactic in terms of its marketing budget.
The process of Real-Time Bidding contributes in empowering marketers and digital
advertisers in streamlining ads across a number of different networks. It is conducted on
a per-impression basis (BigCommerce Pty. Ltd., 2019).
Sharing of relevant and updated information about the business and the mode of
conduct.
The prices reflected in the PPC Ad are needed to ideally correspond to the information
provided on the website.
Further, the sponsored links need to be effectively distinguished (Chaney, 2017).
(Martin, 2018)
9. Ease of Navigation
The Ease of Navigation is considered as a significant factor associated with the designing of a
PPC Campaign. The sub-factors that are needed to be kept in mind for easing the navigation
along the different pages are outlined as follows:
It needs an effective and simple path to be traced out for carrying out the purchasing
activities on behalf of the clients.
Further, the use of the obtrusive elements like those pop-ups and the pop-unders need
to be potentially restricted for enhancing the effectiveness of the landing pages.
The landing pages are required to be made as such that they tend to load quickly
thereby helping in minimising the time required by the clients in getting an access to the
same.
Further, in terms of ‘ease of navigation’ the pages are required to be designed as such
to help the clients navigate along to other pages without needing the support of a
navigation bar and also other types of links except the Call to Action link ‘Buy Now’.
10.1. Clicks
This metric reflects on the total number of clicks that are obtained for a specific PPC Ad. The
managers of the PPC Campaigns focus on carrying out checks for identifying such ads that gain
little or no clicks and also such ads that tend to gain the maximum clicks. The ads that tend to
gain little or no clicks are thereby removed while keyword bids are carried out for ads gaining
larger clicks to help them move at the top of the search result pages.
The Split Test is essentially carried out based on splitting the incoming web traffic to the website
along the original page for the site and other like variations for the web page. The performances
of the different versions are analysed based on effective parameters like generation of sales
leads, customer engagement and revenue generated which thereby assists in identifying the
most effective version. The Split Tests ideally helps in identifying the factors that tend to
increase or deter the amount of conversions (Diamond, 2019).
For a specific web page different elements like the existence of visual elements like audio-
visuals layout and structure, flow of web traffic and also other factors like the headlines,
descriptions and Call-to-Actions or CTAs are evaluated based on the application of Split Tests
(Optimizely , 2019).
(Optimizely , 2019)
(VWO, 2019)
The above illustration reflects the manner in which the different variations of both Element A and
B contribute in the generation of four different versions for the original website.
(Saleh, 2013)
The illustration reflects that Version B of the Landing Page for a particular website would tend to
attract and retain users in that the navigation bar is put on the left side while the content body on
the right side of the page. Version B thus stands out to be the winner in that the same gains the
potential in fetching in around 75 orders compared to Version A which has only fetched 50
orders.
(Saleh, 2013)
The illustration reflects Multivariate Testing as that which focuses on testing a number of
variations associated to the combination of different elements like headline, image and buttons
in a simultaneous manner. The landing page that contributes in achieving the highest number of
conversion rates and also needed revenue happens to emerge out as the winner.
(Saleh, 2013)
A comparison between A/B Testing and Multivariate Testing ideally reflects that Multivariate
Testing has more potential compared to the former regards to simultaneous testing of elements
for websites attracting significant amount of traffic.
(Saleh, 2013)
The different elements that are subject to tests are reflected in the above illustration.
An effective Testing Campaign for Testing of Landing Pages is generated based on the
inclusion of 15 different steps that are reflected in the following illustrations:
(Saleh, 2013)
The Testing of the Landing Pages are essentially carried out based on the inclusion of 15
different steps that are reflected in the above illustration. A set of different types of mistakes that
one must tend to avoid while carrying out Tests of Landing Pages are outlined as follows in the
form of an illustration:
Figure 12.4: Mistakes associated to Testing of Landing Pages
(Saleh, 2013)
The above illustrations reflect the different types of mistakes that are tended to be conducted
while carrying out the testing of the landing pages. The identification of such mistakes requires
the conscious evasion of such to produce a successful landing page.
13. AdWords
Google AdWords is identified as the advertising system of Google that is used by advertisers for
bidding on keywords such that the same helps the clickable ads to effectively appear along the
top results of the different search engine pages. The payment generated by the advertisers
against the different clicks accounts to be revenue generators for Google.
The AdWords tends to work based on the premise of different keyword bids and operates
associated to two different display options like that of Google Search and Display Network
(WordStream , 2019). The same is reflected in the following illustration:
Figure 13.1: AdWords based on Keyword Bidding (2) and Google Search (1) and Display Network (3)
(WordStream , 2019)
The application of high bid keywords in framing the advertisements ideally help in reflecting the
same along relevant searches on the search engine pages.
(WordStream , 2019)
The illustration regarding the working of Google AdWords, reflects that firstly keywords are
chosen by the advertisers on which bids are needed to be generated. Further, the advertisers
also tend to decide on the amount of investments they need to generate regarding the keywords
while also needs to group the different keywords that are paired with relevant ads.
Subsequently, Google then searches and tracks the most relevant keyword from the list of
keywords and thereby sends it for auction in terms of with the numbers of bids specified for the
same and the concerned advertisement.
The Ads are needed to have enough clarity for helping the readers to have better
understanding.
The PPC Ads are also required to incorporate effective Price Points.
The landing pages are required to be made in correspondence to the contents flashed
against the pay-per-click ads.
The Ads are required to act as effective problem solvers for the visitors.
The Ads that are required to be developed are needed to be free of spam ( Google,
2019).
15.1. Keywords
Few terms that are relevant are needed to be included for getting back recommended
placements.
15.2. Website
URLs of different sites on which advertisement is required to be made are required to be
identified and incorporated.
15.3. Category
Categories of different sites that tend to be key-interests are needed to be advertised (Demers,
2018).
17. Retargeting
Retargeting is also identified as Remarketing and tends to act as an effective form of online
advertising that allows the web marketer or website owner to access the web traffic that had
paid visit to the website. Retargeting works based on the following model:
(Retargeter, 2019)
While creating Facebook ads the marketer is required to focus on determining the goals for
production of the ad, segment and thereby target the right customer groups, focus on creating
an engaging advertisement by using of text and audio-visual elements, set effective budgets for
the advertisements and finally review and analyse the ads produced while identifying areas of
improvement (Marshall, et al., 2017).
Total numbers of conversions: Sales leads generated on a daily basis x Conversion Percentage
x 20 working days
Estimation of PPC Profit: Total Profit estimated from the PPC Campaign – Total Budget
accounted for the PPC Campaign (Mayne, 2014).
Budgeting estimation based on Keywords for a PPC Campaign is to be carried out as follows:
In case where 50 terms are there and around 300 searches on an average daily basis,
Total Number of Monthly Searches: 50 terms x 300 daily searches = 15,000 (Total Monthly
Searches)
Total Number of Potential Clicks: Total Number of Monthly Searches X Click Rate X Search
Engine Volume = 15,000 X .33 X .8 = 3,960 Total Number of Potential Clicks
Total Number of Clicks = Total Numbers of Potential Clicks x CTR = 3,960 X 0.03 = 118 Clicks
Estimation of the PPC Budget: Total Number of Clicks X Cost Per Click X Competition Buffer
= 118 Clicks X $ 2.50 (CPC) X 1.3 (Competition Buffer) = $383.50 (The PPC Budget)
Number of PPC Leads per Month: Number of Close Leads / Close Rate = 10 / 0.5 = 200 (PPC
Leads on an Average Monthly Basis)
PPC Budget Estimation: Total Number of PPC Leads generated on a monthly basis X Cost Per
Lead = 200 x $30 = $6,000 PPC Budget.
Desiring for immediate results: In that PPC Campaigns are featured in terms of
generating quicker results the same are designed by the digital marketers while deciding
on launching a specific product/service, promotions carried out on a seasonal basis,
focusing on higher conversions, designing of online promotional campaigns and the like.
Targeting a huge web traffic: The designing of the PPC Campaigns ideally contributes in
tracking huge amount of web traffic based on segmenting customer data received or
tracked based on consulting social media platforms.
Promotions of Time-Sensitive Offers: For promotions that are highly time sensitive in
nature or those promotions that would get expired over a concerned period, the
designing of PPC Campaigns is considered the best in that the same contributes in
generation of increased web traffic.
Desire for dominating the search results: In that, PPC results mainly occupy the top
positions in a search result page dominating the organic results the same encourages
the growth of clicks from the visitors to the different search engines.
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